Bottineau County, North Dakota GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bottineau County, North Dakota Genealogy ancestry, family history and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.
|Bottineau County, North Dakota|
Location in the state of North Dakota
Location of North Dakota in the U.S.
|Founded||January 4, 1873|
|Address|| Bottineau County Courthouse|
314 W 5th Street
Bottineau, ND 58318;
Bottineau County Courthouse
Clerk District Court has Birth, Death, & burial records from 1943,
marriage record from 1887, divorce, probate and court records
from 1889 & naturalization records from 1884;
Register of Deeds has land records
The Territorial legislature identified Bottineau as one of the original counties of the territory in 1872 but it wasn't organized until July 17, 1884, at a meeting in Bottineau. It is named for Pierre Bottineau (c.1814-1895), a Métis pioneer, hunter, and trapper who became a successful land speculator.
1873--Bottineau County was created 4 January 1873 from Buffalo County. County seat: Bottineau 
- Willow City
- Cut Bank
- Mount Rose
- Oak Creek
- Oak Valley
- Stone Creek
- Willow Vale
- Antler Cemetery - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Bethel Lutheran Brethern - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Haas Cemetery - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Kramer Cemetery - Partial Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Landa Cemetery - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Lansford Cemetery - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Little Fargo Cemetery - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Memorial Park - Partial Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Mohall Cemetery - Partial Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Mount St. Mark Cemetery - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Mouse River Lutheran - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Nederos Lutheran Cemetery - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Oak Creek Cemetery - Partial Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Old Salem Cemetery - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Our Savior's Cemetery - Partial Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Renville Cemetery - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Riverside Cemetery - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Russell Cemetery - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Saint Jerome's Cemetery - Partial Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Saint John's Cemetery - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Tarsus Cemetery - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Weeks Cemetery - Partial Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Willow City Cemetery - Index - Hidden Ancestors
- Willow Creek Cemetery - Index - Hidden Ancestors
Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about North Dakota denominations, view the North Dakota Church Records wiki page.
Bottineau County Churches - Church Angel
- Records of Mouse River Lutheran Church, Bottineau County, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).
When the United States acquired North Dakota, most of the land became available for homesteading or purchase from the federal government. For more information on this, see North Dakota Land and Property.
After land was transferred from the government to private owners, the registrar of deeds in each county recorded the land transactions in the form of deeds and mortgages.
Local histories are available for Bottineau County, North Dakota Genealogy. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section North Dakota Local Histories.
Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bottineau County, North Dakota Genealogy newspapers in online catalogs like:
Probate records of North Dakota are at the county clerk's office in each county courthouse. See above for the address of this county's courthouse. Some later estate records are available at the North Dakota Supreme Court. The Family History Library does not presently have copies of probate records from North Dakota.
See the Wiki page North Dakota Probate Records for additional information.
Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.
Record types: dockets, guardians records, administrators records, real estate records, personal property records, and claim registers.
The location of tax records of North Dakota depend on the type of tax. Some are at the clerk's office in the county courthouse, while others are in the state archive. The Family History Library does not presently have copies of tax records from North Dakota.
Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the North Dakota Vital Records State Department of Health or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.
Societies and Libraries
Family History Centers
Family History Centers provide one-on-one assistance and free access to premium genealogical websites. In addition, many centers have free how-to genealogy classes. See Family History Centers for more information. Search the online FHC directory for a nearby family history center.
- USGenWeb project. May have maps, name indexes, history or other information for this county. Select the state, then the county.
- FamilySearch Catalog
- Bottineau County, North Dakota Genealogy and Family History (Linkpendium)
- ↑ Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bottineau County, North Dakota. Page 522 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
- ↑ The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
- This page was last modified on 6 February 2015, at 03:13.
- This page has been accessed 9,208 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More