Botus Fleming, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes

Guide to Botus Fleming, Cornwall ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Botus Fleming, Cornwall
Botus Fleming St Mary contributor Mick Lobb.jpg
Botus Fleming St Mary contributor Mick Lobb
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union St Germans PLU
Registration District St Germans
Records begin
Parish registers: 1548
Bishop's Transcripts: 1608
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery East
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOTUS-FLEMING, a parish, in the union of St. Germans, S. division of the hundred of East, E. division of Cornwall, 3 miles (N. W.) from Saltash. [1] Botus Fleming St Mary is an Ancient Parish in the county of Cornwall.

The Parish Church is dedicated to St Mary and has a western tower and a fine arcade between the nave and the north aisle. In a field near the church is an obelisk in memory of William Martyn built in 1762. Moditonham is the site of the medieval castle of the Moditons of which nothing remains; there is now a large Georgian house there

Neighbouring Parishes

England Jurisdictions 1851 may be used to locate nearby parishes by clicking the "Options" tab and selecting "List contiguous parishes."

Landrake, Cornwall  Landulph, Cornwall  Pillaton, Cornwall  St Stephens by Saltash, Cornwall

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is Free BMD.

Church records

Botus Fleming, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = findmypast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[10]
Botus Fleming, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1550-1812

COPC 1547-1913
1550-1913
1675-1938
FMP 1547-1861 1549-1836 1701-1837
FREG 1740-1910
1550-1812
1800-1923
FS PRs 1548-1902 1548-1836 1548-1813
IGI 1547-1837
PALL
1800-1812

Records deposited cover 1548-1992, these registers are kept at the County Record Office, County Hall, Truro TR1 3AY.

The Family History Library has microfilmed parish registers from 1548-1992 and bishop’s transcripts from 1675-1773.

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch under Records. Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P15.

Burials from 1813 do not appear but are incorrectly way pointed in the Bolventor waypoints. This issue has been referred to engineers for future correction.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is theCornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241259.

Overview, If there is any unique information such as the census for X year was destroyed, Collection in FHL and link to catalog,  Online sites.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

St Germans Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Botus in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 309-314. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  10. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:31.
  • This page has been accessed 2,426 times.