Boughton Aluph, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Boughton Aluph, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Boughton Aluph, Kent
Boughton Aluph All Saints Kent.jpg
Boughton Aluph All Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Wye
County Kent
Poor Law Union East Ashford PLU
Registration District East Ashford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridge
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOUGHTON-ALUPH (All Saints), a parish, in the union of East Ashford, hundred of Wye, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 4 miles (N. N. E.) from Ashford. [1]


Boughton Aluph is a village and civil parish in the Borough of Ashford in Kent Boughton Aluph Wikipedia The civil parish includes the village of Boughton Lees Boughton Lees Wikipedia

Boughton Aluph All Saints is an Ancient Anglican parish in the Diocese of Canterbury within the Wye, Kent parish and one of three churches in the parish; including the redundant church of Eastwell, Kent St MarySee also Wye Benefice website

There is also a Baptist Church in the village Boughton Baptist Chapel Wye Road.

The church of All Saints, Church lane has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Kent Churches website


Resources

Civil Registration

See East Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Boughton Aluph, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[7]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[8]
Boughton Aluph, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1558-1870
1558-1953; 1755-1824 (Banns)
1558-1903
FREG
1754-1911

FS PRs 1755-1900 (banns)
MIDK 1754-1911

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Census records

Census returns for Boughton Aluph 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions. [1]

[2] to locate local Family History Centres in UK

[3] to locate outside UK. Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

East Ashford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 314-317. Date Accessed: 15 July 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  7. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  8. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 13:19.
  • This page has been accessed 3,939 times.