Boughton Monchelsea, Kent GenealogyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

(Redirected from Boughton Monchelsea, Kent)

England Gotoarrow.png Kent  Gotoarrow.pngKent Parishes

Guide to Boughton Monchelsea, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Boughton Monchelsea, Kent
Boughton Monchelsea St Peter Kent.jpg
Boughton Monchelsea St Peter Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eyhorne
County Kent
Poor Law Union Maidstone
Registration District Maidstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1560
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sutton
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Parish History

BOUGHTON-MONCHELSEA (St. Peter), a parish, in the union of Maidstone, hundred of Eyhorne, and extending into the hundred of Maidstone, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 4 miles (S. by E.) from Maidstone.[1]

Boughton Monchelsea is a village and civil parish in the Maidstone district of Kent, see Boughton Monchelsea Wikipedia

Boughton Monchelsea St Peter is an Ancient Parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you.

The church was built around 1100 and is designated a Grade II* Listed building. The lych gate dates from 1470 and is designated as a grade II* Secular Building and is one of the oldest Lych gates in England.British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 336-345 at British History Online and Kent Churches website


Civil Registration

See Maidstone Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Boughton Monchelsea, Kent Genealogy parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
Boughton Monchelsea, Kent Genealogy Online Parish Records


Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1564-1860
1560-1837; 1754-1823 (Banns)
FS PRs 1861-1900 1837-1889 1813-1898

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Boughton Monchelsea available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census returns for Boughton Monchelsea 1851-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK

Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901

Poor Law Unions

Maidstone Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.



  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 314-317. Date accessed: 15 July 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.


Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.

Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 June 2015, at 12:44.
  • This page has been accessed 7,186 times.