Boughton St Matthew, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire

Guide to Boughton St. Matthew, Nottinghamshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census, birth, marriage and death records.

Contents

Parish History

Boughton St Matthew, Nottinghamshire
Boughton St Matthew Nottinghamshire.jpg
Boughton St Matthew Nottinghamshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bassetlaw; Thurgarton
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Southwell PLU
Registration District Southwell
Records begin
Parish registers: 1682; Separate registers exist for Boughton beginning 1685
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600; Separate records exist for Boughton beginning 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newark
Diocese Lincoln
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Boughton St Matthew was formerly jointly part of Kneesall, Nottinghamshire Ancient parish and is part of the civil parish of Ollerton and Boughton in the Newark and Sherwood district of Nottinghamshire.

Southwell and Nottingham Church History project have researched the history of the parish Boughton St Matthew

The Parish Church of St Matthew has been designated as a grade II listed building British listed building

See also Ollerton and Boughton Wikipedia

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Boughton St Matthew, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[1]
BOUGHTON ST MATTHEW PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1790-1837

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Boughton St Matthew
Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1686-1907 Marriages 1685-1901 Burials 1686-1907 Bishop's Transcripts 1600-1861
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection. Boughton

Census records

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Southwell Poor Law Union,Nottinghamshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Jurisdictions, Parishes B-D to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. It may be necessary to search for Kneesall, NottinghamshireScroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Boughton (Bucheton or Bucton) in GENUKI: www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Boughton/index.html

Kneesall (Kneesale or Chenesale)  in GENUKI www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/NTT/Kneesall/index.html

References

  1. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 December 2014, at 19:51.
  • This page has been accessed 980 times.