Boughton under Blean, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Boughton under Blean, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Boughton under Blean, Kent
St. Peter and St. Paul Boughton-under-Blean Kent.jpg
St. Peter and St. Paul Boughton-under-Blean Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Boughton-under-Blean
County Kent
Poor Law Union Faversham PLU
Registration District Faversham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1568
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Ospringe
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Canterbury (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office


Contents

Parish History

BOUGHTON-under-Blean (St. Peter and St. Paul), a parish, in the union of Faversham, hundred of Boughton-under-Blean, lathe of Scray, E. division of Kent, 3 miles (S. E. by E.) from Faversham. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]


Boughton under Blean is a village and civil parish in the Swale district of Kent Boughton under Blean Wikipedia

Boughton under Blean St Peter and St Paul is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Canterbury and the eponymous hundred of Boughton under Blean described by Edward Hasted 'The hundred of Boughton under Blean: Introduction', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 7 (1798), pp. 1-2. at British History Online

The church dates from the 13th century with 14 and 15th century additions and restored in 1871 by St Aubyn.

The church is designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage. British listed building

See also Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 7 (1798), pp. 2-19 BoughtonunderBlean + at British History Online  and Kent Churches

Resources

Civil Registration

See Faversham Registration District

Kent County Council

Registration Services
Invicta House
County Hall
Maidstone
Kent ME14 1XX Telephone 08458 247 400 http://www.kent.gov.uk are developing online search for all birth marriages and deaths as a result of a community volunteer effort. Not all events are capable of search but the index is updated annually.

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Boughton under Blean St Peter and St Paul parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS = FamilySearch - free[7]
FSBOOK = FamilySearch Books - free
IARC = Internet Archive - free[8]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[9]
Boughton under Blean St Peter and St Paul Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1558-1912 1558-1912 1754-1928; 1754-1907 (Banns) 1754-1928; 1754-1907 (Banns) 1558-1907 1558-1907
FREG 1558-1677
1558-1626
1558-1626
FS 1558-1624 1558-1626

FSBOOK 1558-1624
1558-1626
1558-1625
IARC 1558-1624
1558-1626
1558-1625
IGI 1558-1624 1558-1626

Boughton under Blean St Barnabas parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Boughton under Blean St Barnabas Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1896-1912 1896-1912

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Boughton under Blean are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census returns for Boughton under Blean 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Faversham Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent Gillingham Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 314-317. Date accessed. 8 July 2013.
  2. 'Canterbury baptism records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 November 2013.
  3. 'Canterbury marriage records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  4. 'Canterbury banns coverage', Find My Past, accessed 11 November 2013.
  5. 'Canterbury burial records coverage', Find My Past, accessed 14 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  7. Batches P015111 and M015111, see: Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 March 2012.
  8. John Adolphus Boodle, The Registers of Boughton-under-Blean, Co. Kent: Baptisms 1558-1624, Marriages 1558-1626, Burials 1558-1625 (London: The Parish Register Society, 1903). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  9. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 November 2014, at 03:15.
  • This page has been accessed 6,086 times.