Boulder County, ColoradoEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to  Boulder County, Colorado genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United StatesGotoarrow.pngColoradoGotoarrow.pngBoulder County

File:Boulder Pano from Fairview HS
Hand and keyboard.jpg Colorado
Online Records
.
Boulder County, Colorado
Map
Map of Colorado highlighting Boulder County
Location in the state of Colorado
Map of the U.S. highlighting Colorado
Location of Colorado in the U.S.
Facts
Founded November 1, 1861
County Seat Boulder
Courthouse
Address Boulder County Courthouse
2020 13th st
PO Box 471
Boulder, CO 80302
Phone 303.441.7770
Boulder County Website

Contents

County Recorder

County recorder has marriage records from 1863, land records from 1864 and military discharge records from 1917; County Health Department has birth and death records records from 1872. County Court has probate, divorce and court records.[1]

Boulder Clerk Recorder's Office
1750 33rd Street, Suite 201
Boulder, CO 80301            (303) 413-7770

History

Boulder County, Colorado was organized when the Colorado territory was formed. Prior to that, the area was Jackson county in the unrecognized territory of Jefferson that existed from October 24, 1859 until the creation of the Colorado Territory on February 28, 1861 The early settlers mostly came for the Colorado gold rush in 1858.

Parent County

Coboulder.jpg
1 November 1861: Boulder County was created 1 November 1861 as an original county.  County seat: Boulder

Neighboring Counties

Record Loss

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Vital Records Section Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment or the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred.

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Colorado.


Beginning dates for major county records
Birth
Marriage
Death
Tax
Land
Probate
1866 - 1909 *
1863 *
1880 - 1903*
1864
1864
1864 **

*For earlier dates, try... Church | Obituaries | Cemeteries

    • Estate Files from 1862 are in the Colorado State Archives


See also Colorado Vital Records.

Birth

Birth records may become public records when 100 years have elapsed after the date of birth. EXCEPTION: The birth record of any individual who is known to be currently alive will remain confidential even if they are 100 years of age or greater. [2]

Boulder County Public Health can issue certified birth certificates for births occurring anywhere in Colorado from 1904 to present day. They only issue certified copies of birth certificates.

Only the person named on the record or members of the immediate family, legal representatives of those named above, or others demonstrating a direct and tangible interest in the record may request a copy if the birth occurred within the last 100 years as stated above. Proof of your relationship or direct and tangible interest is required.

Birth & Death Certificates

Boulder: (303) 441-1100
Longmont: (303) 678-6166

Marriage

The Boulder County Recorder's office will search their indexes if you call or come in to the office. If a record is found, a copy can be purchased in person or by mail. Call (303) 413-7770 and press 0 to speak to a clerk.

Death

Death records may become public records when 75 years have elapsed after the date of death. [2]

Certified copies of death certificates may be issued to: parents; grandparents; stepparents; siblings; spouse; adult children, stepchildren, or grandchildren of the deceased; legal representatives of any of the above; legal representatives of the deceased; probate researchers; genealogists representing family members with appropriate credentials; others who may demonstrate a direct and tangible interest when information is needed for determination or protection of a personal property right. Proof of your relationship or direct and tangible interest is required.

Divorce

Boulder County divorces take place in Colorado’s 20th Judicial District. To obtain copies of divorce records there are fees for searching and for copies.

Boulder County Combined Courts Research Department (303) 441-4860 http://www.courts.state.co.us/Courts/District/Index.cfm?District_ID=20

The Colorado State Archives has put a name only index to the Boulder County Divorce Records for the period 5/14/1904 to 4/22/1912 on-line.

The Colorado State Archives also has the divorce records for Boulder County from 1964 to 1995. To obtain these records, you need the case number and can get it from the Boulder County Combined Courts. Then go to https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/archives/boulder-divorce

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Populated Places in Boulder County
Cities
Towns
Unincorporated
Boulder
Erie *
Allenspark
Lafayette
Jamestown
Coal Creek **
Longmont*
Lyons
Eldora
Louisville
Nederland
Eldora Springs

Superior ***
Gold Hill

Ward
Gunbarrel #


Hygiene # #


Niwot # #


Valmont #

* partly in Weld County
** partly in Gilpin County and Jefferson County
*** partly in Jefferson County
# also check for records in Boulder
# # also check for records in Longmont

Unpopulated Places

Caribou, Colorado was an important silver mining town. Famed at the time for being the coldest, snowiest, windiest town, at 10,000 feet elevation it was not an easy place to live. The Silver Crash of 1893 meant that it was less profitable. Incorporated as a town in 1871, Caribou had peak population of 549 in the 1880 census, and became a ghost town by the 1920s. [3]

Many mining communities have formed and disbanded in this area, including Wall Street, Tungsten, Summerville, Rowena, Marshall and Magnolia. [4]

Resources

Archives

The Colorado State Archives has the following records available for Boulder County, Colorado in this online database Archives Search. For a full list of online holdings, click here.
(Statewide)
Civilian Conservation Corps Enrollments 1936 - 1942
Divorce Index 1880 - 1939
Horseshoers 1897 - 1920
Mine Accidents, Non - fatal 1883 - 1900
Vietnam Deaths 1966, 1968

Boulder County Birth Index 1892 - 1906
Boulder County Divorce 1904 - 1918
Boulder County Mothers Compensations 1914 - 1934
Boulder County Inheritance Tax Records 1941 - 1943
Boulder County Old Age Pension 1933 - 1936
Boulder County Probates 1862 - 1900
Boulder County Rights of Way Cases 1871 - 1872

Cemeteries

Columbia Cemetery, 1201 9th Street, Boulder, CO 80302
(also called Pioneer, Masonic, City, Park, Boulder, and Old Cemetery)
http://www.bouldergenealogy.org/bgs/cemeteries/columbia/columbia_intro.html

Green Mountain Cemetery, 290 20th Street, Boulder CO 80302
303 444-5695
http://www.bouldergenealogy.org/bgs/cemeteries/greenmnt/GMC_intro.htm

Longmont Cemeteries Lafayette Cemeteries Louisville Cemeteries

Census

The first U.S. federal census that included the Boulder county area was part of the 1860 Nebraska territorial census. Transcribed records from that census are available here:

http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~usgenweb/ne/state/1860cens.htm#colorado60

U. S. federal census records began for Colorado in 1870 and continue every ten years to the present.

For tips on accessing Boulder County, Colorado census records online, see: Colorado Census.

Church Records

Church records vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Colorado denominations, view the Colorado Church Records wiki page. See also

Longmont Churches Lafayette Churches Louisville Churches

Lutheran

  • Records of the American Lutheran Church, Broomfield, in Evangelical Lutheran Church in America database at Archives.com ($).

Court Records

Boulder County Mothers' Compensation Records 1914-1934.  An Index compiled from the offical record of the applications granted by the Boulder County Commissioners during these years.  Record may show the following:

  • Name of Applicant
  • Date and Amount of Compensation payment
  • Any adjustments to the pension
  • Person's age
  • Town nearest to where they lived
  • Other Actions done by the County.

Boulder County Old Age Pension Records 1933-1936. An Index compiled from the offcial record of the applications granted by the Boulder County Commissioners during these years. Record may show the following:

  • Name of Applicant
  • Date and Amount of pension payment
  • Any adjustments to the pension
  • Person's age
  • Town nearest to where they lived
  • Other Actions done by the County

Local History and Biographies

Local histories are available for Boulder County, Colorado. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Colorado Local Histories.

Some local histories available are these:

Boulder County: an illustrated history / by Thomas J. Noel and Dan W. Corson.
Carlsbad, Calif. ; Heritage Media Corp., c1999.

Ghosts of Boulder County : a guide to the ghost towns and mining camps of Boulder County, Colorado / written and photographed by John K. Aldrich. Lakewood, Colo. (5815 W. 6th St., Bldg. 2, Suite. A, Lakewood 80214) : Centennial Graphics, c1986

A guide to the greater St. Vrain Valley.
Compass Communications, 1975-


Boulder County (Colorado) area key : a study of the genealogical record sources of Boulder County, Colorado, including maps, history, addresses / compiled by Florence Runyan Clint.
Denver, CO : Eden Press, c1969.

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Colorado Land and Property for additional information about early Colorado land grants.

After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse, where current records are also housed.

Boulder County Recording Division (303) 413-7770 and fax (303) 413-7775
email: recording@bouldercounty.org

Maps

Boulder County has numerous maps available online here:

https://bouldercolorado.gov/maps

Military

Newspapers

Microfilm of old newspapers is available at the Boulder Public Library and at the Longmont Public Library. The Longmont collection includes issues from 1872 to the present. See Longmont Newspapers

Online Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Boulder County, Colorado newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records have been kept by the county courts. Colorado probate records include bonds, affidavits, letters, claims, appraisals, fee accounts, minutes, judgments, dockets, calendars, case files, and wills. The Family History Library does not have copies of probate records from Colorado.

You may obtain copies of documents from the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Colorado State Archives has a searchable database for county probate records. Boulder County records for the years 1862  to 1900 can be found in this index. https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/archives/probate-records.

The probate holdings in the state archives for Boulder County include the years 1852 to 2004.

Taxation

Colorado tax records complement land records and can be used as supplements to censuses. There may be gaps of several years in the records. To find tax records in the FamilySearch Catalog, do a Catalog/frameset_fhlc.asp Place Search for the county.

Boulder County Inheritance Tax Records Index (1941-1943) is one of many On-Line Indexes available at the Colorado State Archives website.

Societies and Libraries

Societies

Museums

Libraries

  • Boulder Public Library
    1000 Canyon Blvd
    Boulder, CO 80302
    Phone: (303) 441-3100
    boulderlibrary.org/

Family History Centers

FamilySearch Centers are branches of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah, and are located all over the world. Their goal is to provide resources for family history research.

Websites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Boulder County, Colorado. Page 97At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. 2.0 2.1 Letter from Colorado State Registrar, Dated September 1, 2011. Policy Number 2011- 08. http://www.colorado.gov
  3. Noel, Thomas J. and Dan W. Corson. Boulder County, An Illustrated History.; Carlsbad, California; Heritage Media Corporation: 1999. pp 63-65.
  4. Bright, William. Colorado Place Names;. Boulder, Colorado; Johnson Printing Company: 2004, 1993.
  5. 5.00 5.01 5.02 5.03 5.04 5.05 5.06 5.07 5.08 5.09 5.10 5.11 Colorado Online Historical Newspapers, https://sites.google.com/site/onlinenewspapersite/Home/usa/co, accessed 19 July 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 04:52.
  • This page has been accessed 11,976 times.