Bourbon County, KentuckyEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Kentucky  Gotoarrow.png  Bourbon County

Guide to Bourbon County Kentucky ancestry, family history, and genealogy research page. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, military records, and immigration records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Kentucky
Online Records


Bourbon County, Kentucky
Map
Map of Kentucky highlighting Bourbon County
Location in the state of Kentucky
Map of the U.S. highlighting Kentucky
Location of Kentucky in the U.S.
Facts
Founded October 17, 1785
County Seat Paris
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Kylogosm.gif This page adopted by:
KYGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Bourbon Co. KYGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

Bourbon County Kentucky Courthouse

Beginning Dates for Bourbon County, Kentucky Government Records
Birth* Marriage Death* Census Deeds Wills
1852 1786 1852 1810 1786 1786
*Many years between 1852 and 1911 are missing
Burbon County, Kentucky Courthouse.JPG

Bourbon County Courthouse
310 Main Street
Paris, KY 40361
Phone: 859.987.2142[1]

Bourbon County Kentucky History

Parent County

1785--Bourbon County was created 17 October 1785 from Fayette County.
County seat: Paris [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Kentucky county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Kentucky County Boundary Maps" (1776-1939) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1872--A disaster caused the loss of some records. For a list of record loss in Kentucky counties see: Kentucky Counties with Burned Courthouses

  • Lost censuses: 1790, 1800

Bourbon County Kentucky Places / Localities

Populated Places

Austerlitz Escondida Kiserton Paris
Blacks Crossroads Ewalt Crossroads Little Rock Plum
Brentsville Hopewell Middletown Ruddels Mills
Bunker Hill Hutchison Millersburg Shawhan
Cane Ridge Jacksonville Monterey Sidville
Clintonville Jackstown North Middletown Stony Point
Currentsville

Neighboring Counties

Bourbon County Kentucky Genealogy Resources

Kybourbon.png

African Americans

United States African Americans Gotoarrow.png Kentucky African Americans

Biographies

Cemeteries

Kentucky cemetery records often identify birth, death, relationship, and military information, as well as religious affiliation.

  • Bourbon County Cemeteries with photos, names and stone photos.
  • Kentucky Historical Society Cemetery Search can be searched by name, place and/or date.  This database has hundreds of thousands of names transcribed from gravestones across Kentucky. 
  • Find A Grave can be searched by the name of a person or family to find where a person is buried.  Usually gives birth and death dates often with a picture of the tombstone.  May give obituaries, names of family members and links to their information in Find A Grave.
  • Kentucky Cemeteries lists the national cemeteries in Kentucky with links to their web sites. The first link under Online Kentucky Cemeteries goes to the Kentucky section of Interment.net

Census

Historical populations
Census Pop.
17907,837
180012,82563.6%
181018,00940.4%
182017,664−1.9%
183018,4364.4%
184014,478−21.5%
185014,466−0.1%
186014,8602.7%
187014,8630%
188015,9567.4%
189016,9766.4%
190018,0696.4%
191017,462−3.4%
192018,4185.5%
193018,060−1.9%
194017,932−0.7%
195017,752−1.0%
196018,1782.4%
197018,4761.6%
198019,4055.0%
199019,236−0.9%
200019,3600.6%
Est. 200719,8392.5%
http://ukcc.uky.edu/~census/21017.txt



1810, 1820, 1830, 1840, 1850, 1860, 1870, 1880, 1900, 1910, 1920, and 1930 federal population schedules of Bourbon County are available online. For tips on accessing census records online, see Kentucky Census. If you're having trouble finding your ancestors in online indexes, try checking printed indexes. Created by local experts familiar with the area's families, these indexes are often transcribed more accurately than online nationwide indexes.

See Kentucky Population Schedule Indexes: Fiche, Film, or Book for more information about statewide printed indexes.

1790 - Lost, but a substitute is available, see Taxation.

1800 - Lost, but a substitute is available:

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Kentucky denominations, view the Kentucky Church Records wiki page.

Baptist
Associations
Churches

•   Baptist History Homepage - transcriptions of a large number of church annual meeting      minutes, Baptist newspapers, etc.

Presbyterian

Court

Genealogy

More than 100 genealogies have been published about Bourbon County families. To view a list, visit Bourbon County, Kentucky Genealogy.

Immigration

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes will of a resident of Bourbon County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Kentucky Land and Property for additional information about early Kentucky land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Land Grants and Patents

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bourbon County, Kentucky. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Kentucky Local Histories.

Maps

Military

French and Indian War
  • Bockstruck, Lloyd DeWitt. Virginia's Colonial Soldiers. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., 1988. Available at FHL. [Identifies a Bourbon County veteran; see place name index.]
Revolutionary War
  • Bell, Annie W.B. Record of Pension Abstracts Pertaining to Soldiers of the Revolutionary War, War of 1812, and Indian Wars: Who Settled in Bourbon County, Kentucky. 1934. FHL US/CAN Book 976.942 M23b.
War of 1812
  • Bell, Annie W.B. Record of Pension Abstracts Pertaining to Soldiers of the Revolutionary War, War of 1812, and Indian Wars: Who Settled in Bourbon County, Kentucky. 1934. FHL US/CAN Book 976.942 M23b.
Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Bourbon County, Kentucky served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bourbon County, Kentucky:

- 7th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Companies A, B, E, G, H, K and M.
- 11th Regiment, Kentucky Cavalry (Union), Company G.
- 18th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Company A, B, D and E.
- 40th Regiment, Kentucky Infantry (Union), Company E.

World War II
  • Bourbon County Woman's Club (Paris, Ky.). Bourbon County Men and Women Who Served in World War Two. Digital version at Kentuckiana Digital Library.

Miscellaneous

Newspapers


Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bourbon County, Kentucky newspapers in online catalogs like:

Obituaries

Probate

Probate records are held by the Bourbon County, Kentucky Clerk of Court and are housed at the Bourbon County, Kentucky Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Kentucky, Probate Records, 1792-1977. See the wiki page Kentucky Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Bourbon County Wills and Estates - a variety of wills and related materials

The organization Strictly By Name provides free online indexes to early Bourbon County probate records. They offer a record retrieval service to photocopy and transcribe microfilm copies of the original documents for a small fee. Available indexes:

  1. Will Book A: 1786-1795
  2. Will Book B: 1795-1805

London Court

  • Coldham, Peter Wilson. North American Wills Registered in London 1611-1857. Baltimore: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2007. [Includes will of a resident of Bourbon County proved in London. These records often help establish an immigrant's place of origin.]

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more background information and state-wide resources see the wiki page Kentucky Taxation.

  • 1787 - Schreiner-Yantis, Netti and Florene Speakman Love. The 1787 Census of Virginia: An Accounting of the Name of Every White Male Tithable Over 21 Years, the Number of White Males Between 16 & 21 Years, the Number of Slaves over 16 & Those Under 16 Years, Together with a Listing of Their Horses, Cattle & Carriages, and Also the Names of All Persons to Whom Ordinary Licenses and Physician's Licenses Were Issued. 3 vols. Springfield, Va.: Genealogical Books in Print, 1987. Available at FHL. [The source of this publication is the 1787 personal property tax list. Bourbon County is included in Vol. 1.]
  • 1790-1791 - Heinemann, Charles B. "First Census" of Kentucky 1790. Washington, D.C.: n.p., 1940. 1981 reprint: FHL US/CAN 976.9 X2ph 1981; digital version at Kentucky Kinfolks. ["8 pages of 1790 were used and 3 volumes of 1791. There is some duplication of names."]
  • 1800 - 1800 Tax List of Bourbon County, Kentucky is included in Clift's Second Census of Kentucky 1800,[8] digitized by Ancestry ($).

Vital Records

Vital records consist of birth, death, marriage and divorce records. Although Kentucky enacted a statute in 1852-1862 requiring registration of births and deaths,many counties did not comply. A second law was written in 1874-1879, and 1892-1910 but, again, was not always followed. By 1911, the law was more clearly defined and kept by 1920. Any existing births 1852-1960 and death records 1852-1953 can be accessed online. See How to Find Kentucky Birth Records and How to Find Kentucky Death Records for links to indexes and images.

Original marriage records are held at the office of the Bourbon County, Kentucky Clerk, with divorce records 1849-1958 located with the Bourbon County, Kentucky Circuit Court. For more information see How to Find Kentucky Marriage Records. For Kentucky divorce records see the wiki page Kentucky Vital Records.

Birth
  • 1852-1859 - Bourbon County Birth Index 1852-1859. Batch C517081 at FamilySearch - free.[9]
  • 1874 - Bourbon County Birth Index 1874. Batch C517082 at FamilySearch - free.[9]
Marriage

Bourbon County Kentucky Genealogy Societies and Libraries 

Family History Centers

Bourbon County Kentucky Genealogy Websites

Bourbon County Kentucky Genealogy References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bourbon County, Kentucky page 268, At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  4. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  5. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  6. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  7. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  8. G. Glenn Clift, Second Census of Kentucky 1800: A Privately Compiled and Published Enumeration of Tax Payers Appearing in the 79 Manuscript Volumes Extant of Tax Lists of the 42 Counties of Kentucky in Existence in 1800 (1954; reprint, Baltimore, Md.: Genealogical Publishing Co., Inc., 2005).
  9. 9.0 9.1 9.2 9.3 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/f/f1/Igikentuckyaf.pdf.
  10. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.
  11. May be used for free at Family History Center. To locate a center near you, click here.

 


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 10 November 2014, at 22:05.
  • This page has been accessed 30,768 times.