Bournemouth St Peter, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bournemouth St Peter

Guide to Bournemouth, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bournemouth St Peter, Hampshire
St Peter's Church - Bournemouth, Dorset, England.jpg
Type Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Holdenhurst
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Christchurch PLU
Registration District Christchurch
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bournemouth
Archdeaconry Bournemouth
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester

Contents

Parish History

The parish of Bournemouth St Peter was created in 1845 from Christchurch and Holdenhurst, with Reverend Morden Bennett, the first rector, presiding over the building of the mother church.

Originally within the county of Hampshire, the parish was moved to Dorset as a result of the reorganisation of local government in 1974

As the population of the parish grew in the latter part of the 19th century, further parishes were created as divisions from St Peter. These churches included the following:

  • Bournemouth St Clement - 1871
  • Bournemouth Holy Trinity- 1867
  • Bournemouth St Michael]] - 1874
  • Bournemouth St Paul - 1878
  • Bournemouth St Andrew - 1887
  • Bournemouth St Augustin - 1893
  • Bournemouth St John - 1888
  • Bournemouth St Stephen- 1902

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288800.

Gazetteers

1848

BOURNEMOUTH, a village, in the parish, union, and hundred of Christchurch, Ringwood and S. divisions of the county of Southampton, about 6 miles (W. by S.) from Christchurch.[1].

Websites

Wikipedia
Wikipedia has more about this subject: St Peter's Church, Bournemouth


References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, "A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 314-317. Date accessed: 19 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 April 2014, at 15:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,360 times.