Bourton on the Hill, GloucestershireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bourton on the Hill, Gloucestershire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Bourton on the Hill, Gloucestershire|
|Poor Law Union||Shipston on Stour PLU|
|Registration District||Shipston on Stour|
|Parish registers: 1568|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1598|
|Diocese||Pre 1836 - Gloucester; Post 1835 - Gloucester and Bristol|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop of Gloucester (Episcopal Consistory)|
|Location of Archive|
|Gloucestershire Record Office|
BOURTON-on-the-Hill (St. Lawrence), a parish, in the union of Shipston, partly in the Upper division of the hundred of Tewkesbury, and partly in the Upper division of that of Westminster, E. division of the county of Gloucester, 2 miles (W. by N.) from Moreton. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Bourton on the Hill, Gloucestershire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|FHSO = FHSOnline - (£)|
|Bourton on the Hill, Gloucestershire Online Parish Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288778.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Gloucestershire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- ↑ Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 317-320. Date accessed: 07 May 2013.
- ↑ 'Coverage for the Gloucestershire Marriages database,' FHS Online, accessed 9 May 2014.
- This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:30.
- This page has been accessed 1,909 times.
Share Your Opinion!
The Community Council Selection Committee is now accepting recommendations for potential council vacancies.Recommendations Page