Bow, MiddlesexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Gotoarrow.png Middlesex Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bow

Bow, Middlesex family history and genealogy research page. Guide to parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

BOW, or Stratford-le-Bow was created a parish by 1538. It lies on the river Lea, within the borough Tower Hamlets, just 4 miles east by northeast of St. Paul's Cathedral. See also the Village of Stratford, Victoria Park, and the Hamlet of Old Ford. The parish was formerly a chapel of ease to St Dunstan Stepney Parish, but became a parish by act of Parliament in 1717. A chapel of ease was also built in Old Ford. In 1867 the Baptists built a chapel in this parish, as well, other dissenting chapels existed.[1]


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. Here is a list of church records on microfilm at the Family History Library (FHL) in Salt Lake City.

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438811.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Middlesex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Manorial Records

Records survive for Stratford-at-Bow Manor (1300-1541) in Bow Parish. The Manorial Documents Register will help you locate these records.

Poor Law Unions

Contributor: Add information about the pertinent poor law unions in the area.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bow on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-2) Adapted. Date accessed 22 October 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 5 August 2014, at 15:34.
  • This page has been accessed 5,158 times.