Bowdon, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes 

Guide to Bowden, Cheshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bowdon, Cheshire
Bowdon St Mary's.JPG
Bowdon St Mary's
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bucklow
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Altrincham PLU
Registration District Altrincham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1628; Separate registers exist for Timperley beginning 1849
Bishop's Transcripts: 1600
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frodsham
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bowdon St Mary the Virgin  is an ancient parish is Cheshire including originally Altrincham, Ashley, Baguley, Bowdon, Carrington, Dunham Massey, Hale (near Altrincham), Partington and Timperley and parts of Agden (near Lymm), Ashton upon Mersey and Bollington (near Lymm).

A church on the site was noted in the Domesday Book. It is likely that a new church was built in the 14th century and remodelled in the 16th century. The church was completely rebuilt between 1858 and 1860 by W. H. Brakspear, although the 16th century roofs of the aisles were retained and incorporated into the new structure.

BOWDON, or Bowden (St. Nicholas), is a parish, in the union of Altrincham, hundred of Bucklow, N. division of the county of Chester; comprising the chapelries of Altrincham and Carrington, the townships of Ashley, Baguley, Bowdon, Dunham-Massey, Hale, Partington, and Timperley, and part of the townships of Agden, Ashton-upon-Mersey, and Bollington; it is 1 mile (S. W. by S.) from Altrincham. There are three chapels, forming separate incumbencies; viz., Altrincham, built in 1799; Carrington, built about 1760, at the cost of the Countess of Stamford; and Ringway, the date of which is uncertain.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241233.

Church Records

Bowdon Blessed Virgin Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
FMP = FindMyPast
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Bowdon Blessed Virgin Mary Parish (1600) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1628-1909
  NONE
1628-1934
  NONE
1628-1973
  NONE
FS BT'S 1605-1900   NONE
1606-1837
  NONE
1605-1900
  NONE
FMP (£)      KN  

      KN

1628-2000
1628-2000
NBI

1628-1900

Dunham Massey registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

DUNHAM MASSEY Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1855-1906
1856-1906

Ashley registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

ASHLEY PARISH (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1848-1873, 1880-1909


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes. Parish registers for Bowdon, 1628-1993

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records. Here is a list of church registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Records Content FHL Film
Marriages, 1628-1681, 1683-1774. Baptisms, 1628-1738. Burials, 1628-1738. BRITISH 2092999
Baptisms and burials, 1770-1812. Marriages, 1775-1828. BRITISH 2093924
Baptisms, 1813-1855. Marriages, 1828-1837. Burials, 1813-1841. BRITISH 2093925
Baptisms, 1853-1881. Burials, 1841-1884. BRITISH 2093926
Baptisms, 1881-1956. Burials, 1884-1973. BRITISH 2093927
Baptisms, June 1956-1964. Marriages, 1837-December 1872. BRITISH 2093928
Marriages, December 1872-1976. BRITISH 2093929
Banns of marriages, 1842-1908. Grave register, 1673-1993 (with index). BRITISH 2094110 Items 1 - 4

Bishop's transcripts for Bowdon, 1600-1900 Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 32

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts is available online at FamilySearch Historical Records

Bishop's Transcripts Contents FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1600, 1606-1607, 1610-1611, 1616, 1621, 1623, 1626-1629, 1633, 1635, 1637, 1640, 1660, 1663, 1666, 1668-1676, 1678-1683, 1685, 1688, 1690-1692, 1694, 1696-1697. BRITISH 1655398 Item 3
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1697-1702,1705-1821. BRITISH 1655420
Burials, (January-December) 1821, 1838-August 1843. Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1822-1837. Baptisms 1838-1843. BRITISH 1655421
Baptisms, 1845, 1847-1871. Burials, July 1843-July 1872. BRITISH 1655422
Baptisms, 1871-1894, 1898-1900. Burials, (June-December), 1871-1900. BRITISH 1655423 Item 1
Non-Conformist Churches

Bowdon, St. Paul's Methodist Church (Wesleyan), Enville Road. Built in 1880.
Bowdon, Methodist Church (Wesleyan), Vicarage Lane.
Bowdon, Methodist Church (Wesleyan), Priory Street.
Bowdon, Presbyterian Church, Delamere Road. Built in 1872.
Non-Conformist Records:

Bowdon- Bowdon Wesleyan, Enville Road Manchester Central Library collection:
Baptisms-1857-1927- MFPR 2134
Baptisms-1927-1966- Archives C18/5

Their website is here.

Church records for Wesleyan Methodist Church, Bowdon, 1857-1927

Non-Conformist Content FHL Film
Baptisms, 1857-1927. BRITISH 2357269 Item 11

Bowdon Vale Methodist church

Bowdon Downs- Bowden Downs Congregational Manchester City Library collection
Burials-1881-1887- MFPR 2157

Bowdon- Partington Independent Baptisms-1815-1837- MFPR 292. Also searchable http://www.bmdregisters.co.uk/

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts
  • Altrincham (1837–98)
  • Bucklow (1898–1974)
  • Trafford (post 1974)

Poor Law Unions

Altrincham (renamed Bucklow) Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Bowdon on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis A Topographical Dictionary of England and Wales (1848). Date accessed: 5 February 2013
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 14 October 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 15 October 2013.

To take an online 360 tour of the church http://www.bowdonchurch.org/#/st-marys/4535967268

Bibliography

  • Pevsner, Nikolaus; Edward Hubbard (2003) [1971], The Buildings of England: Cheshire, New Haven & London: Yale University Press, pp. 110, ISBN 0 300 09588 0
  • Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford
  • Morant, Roland W. (1989), Cheshire Churches, Birkenhead: Countyvise, pp. 113, ISBN 0 907768 18 0

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 6,521 times.