Boxmoor, HertfordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hertfordshire Gotoarrow.pngHertfordshire Parishes

Boxmoor, Hertfordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Dacorum
County Hertfordshire
Poor Law Union Hemel Hampstead PLU
Registration District Hemel Hempstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1830
Bishop's Transcripts: 1843 Only
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery St Albans
Diocese Pre-1845 - Lincoln; Post-1844 - Rochester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Huntingdon (Hitchin Division)
Location of Archive
Hertfordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Boxmor, is a chapelry in Hemel-Hempstead parish, Hertfordshire; it is on the Grand Junction canal and the North Western railway, 2½ miles NW by N of Kings-Langley. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Boxmoor, Hertfordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[3]
Boxmoor, Hertfordshire Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1830-1901 1830-1901 1844-1901 1844-1901 1843-1903 1843-1903
NBI

1832-1851


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288829.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hertfordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Boxmoor on GENUKI

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870-72. Adapted. Date accessed: 11 January 2014.
  2. 'The Hertfordshire Collection,' findmypast, accessed 5 March 2014.
  3. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 12 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:26.
  • This page has been accessed 973 times.