Boyton, CornwallEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Gotoarrow.png Cornwall Parishes Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Boyton, Cornwall family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Boyton, Cornwall
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Black Torrington; Stratton
County Cornwall
Poor Law Union Launceston PLU
Registration District Holsworthy; Launceston
Records begin
Parish registers: 1568
Bishop's Transcripts: 1611
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Trigg Major
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Cornwall
Location of Archive
Cornwall Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BOYTON, a parish, in the union of Launceston, partly in the hundred of Black Torrington, N. division of the county of Devon, but chiefly in that of Stratton, E. division of Cornwall, 5 miles (N. by W.) from Launceston. [1]

Boyton (Cornish: Trevoya) Holy Name is an Ecclesiastical Parish in the county of Devon, partly in Cornwall and partly in Devon; created by 1768. Other places in the parish include: Northcott.

Boyton parish church is located in OS Grid Square SX3292 and was dedicated to 'The Holy Name' in the 14th Century. There was a church here from Norman times. The present church was a plain structure of two aisles built towards the end of the reign of Henry VI in the 14th century. The tower also dates from the fourteenth century and is of two stories and contains five bells. Some of the earlier Norman building can be seen in the chancel, a strange goose like creature has been carved on one of the roof bosses. The font, claimed by some to be Saxon, is a simple, crude bowl standing on a pillar. The ancient screen has some fine carving particularly on the sixteenth century base. The church was fully restored in 1876, with a chancel, nave and south aisle, in addition to its tower.

The modern parish is part of Boyton, North Tamerton, Werrington with St Giles-In-The-Heath and Virginstow United Parish, United Benefice in the Diocese of Truro.

Neighbouring Parishes

Luffincott, Devon  St Giles on the Heath Werrington, Devon North Petherwin, Devon Tetcott, Devon Week St Mary, Cornwall

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site Free BMD.

Church records

Boyton, Cornwall parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
COPC = Cornwall Online Parish Clerks - free[3]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[4][5][6]
FREG = FreeREG - free[7][8]
FS PRs = England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010 (FamilySearch) - free[9]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[10]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[11]
Boyton, Cornwall Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1568-1812

COPC 1568-1871
1568-1913
1568-1938
FMP 1568-1871 1568-1836 1813-1837
FREG 1568-1812
1568-1837
1568-1906
FS PRs 1568-1871 1568-1837 1568-1906
IGI 1568-1870 1568-1876
PALL
1800-1812

Records deposited cover 1568-1970, these registers are kept at the County Record Office, County Hall, Truro TR1 3AY.

The Family History Library has microfilmed parish registers from 1568-1960 and bishop’s transcripts from 1679-1773.

Images of parish registers are available online at FamilySearch under Records. Images refer to Cornwall Record Office reference: P16.

Cornwall Online Parish Clerks

An extremely useful resource is the Cornwall Online Parish Clerks page for the parish http://www.cornwall-opc.org/Par_new/a_d/boyton.php includes image and description of church and parish.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241273.

Cornwall Online Census Project

Poor Law Unions

Launceston Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cornwall Probate Records to the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

Websites

Boyton in GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 323-326. Date accessed: 06 March 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage by Parish,' Cornwall Online Parish Clerks, accessed 2 December 2013.
  4. 'Cornwall Baptisms', Find My Past, accessed 22 November 2013.
  5. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  6. 'Cornwall Burials', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  7. 'Cornwall Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 18 November 2013.
  8. 'Cornwall Marriages', Find My Past, accessed 25 November 2013.
  9. 'England, Cornwall and Devon Parish Registers, 1538-2010', FamilySearch, accessed 26 November 2013.
  10. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Cornwall, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 November 2013.
  11. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 July 2014, at 21:50.
  • This page has been accessed 1,835 times.