Brabourne, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent   Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Brabourne, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brabourne, Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bircholt Franchise and Barony
County Kent
Poor Law Union East Ashford PLU
Registration District East Ashford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558
Bishop's Transcripts: 1561
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Elham
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRABOURNE (St. Mary), a parish, in the union of East Ashford, franchise and barony of Bircholt, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 7 miles (E. by S.) from Ashford. There is a chapel for Calvinistic Baptists. [1]
Brabourne is a village and civil parish in the Ashford district of Kent, see Brabourne Wikipedia and grew asa settlement in East Brabourne around the parish church.

Brabourne Lees is a village within the civil parish of Brabourne, see Brabourne Lees Wikipedia

Brabourne St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient parish in the Diocese of Canterbury; it is part of the Smeeth (St. Mary) with Monks Horton and Stowting and Brabourne benefice benefice website See A20 churches website

The Norman church dates from 1144 and is one of the oldest church buildings still in use for worship in England.

The church tower was restored in 1923-1924.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 14-27 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Brabourne Lees nearby in the parish has a Zion Strict Baptist Chapel.

Brabourne Lees Baptist Church Kent.jpg

Resources

Civil Registration

See East Ashford Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brabourne, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4][5]
FREG = FreeREG - free[6]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[7]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[8]
Brabourne, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1558-1893
1564-1837; 1754-1846 (Banns)
1558-1992
FREG
1755-1911

FS PRs 1846-1900 (banns)
MIDK 1754-1911

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Land Tax

Images for Brabourne and Brook available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

These images are derived from 1987 microfilm at Kent Archives, Maidstone, England.

Brook and Brabourne are in the hundred of Cocklescombe.

Kent Archives Office reference: Q/RPL/55

The images refer to the East Brabourne part of the parish.

Edward Hasted describes the villages "That part of it which is within the borough of Cocklescombe, is in the hundred, and within the liberty of the royal manor of Wye".

From: The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 14-27 at British History Online

Images for Brabourne and Hastingleigh 1780-1831are derived from 1987 microfilm at Kent Archives Office reference DRB/RT43-44.
Land tax assessments for Brabourne and Hastingleigh, Kent, 1780-1831 Family History Library BRITISH Film 1469808 Items 1-2

The images refer to the West Brabourne part of the parish; Edward Hasted refers to "Combe, Bedlestone, the hamlet of West Braborne-street and Hampton"

The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 14-27 at British History Online

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306872.



Poor Law Unions

East Ashford Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 323-326. Date accessed: 8 July 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  6. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  7. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  8. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 13:28.
  • This page has been accessed 3,424 times.