Brackley St James, NorthamptonshireEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Brackley St James, Northamptonshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Brackley St James, Northamptonshire|
|Poor Law Union||Brackley PLU|
|Parish registers: None; For records see Brackley St Peter|
|Bishop's Transcripts: None|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Northampton|
|Location of Archive|
|Northamptonshire Record Office|
BRACKLEY, an incorporated market-town, a parish, and the head of a union,in the hundred of King'sSutton, S. division of the county of Northampton,20 miles (S. W. by S.) from Northampton, and 64 (N.W. by W.) from London; containing the parish St. James,and that of St. Peter,which includes the hamlet of Halse. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Brackley St James, Northamptonshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)|
|Brackley St James, Northamptonshire Online Records|
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438878.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Northamptonshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:40.
- This page has been accessed 997 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More