Bracon Ash, NorfolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Bracon Ash, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bracon Ash, Norfolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Humbleyard
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Henstead PLU
Registration District Henstead
Records begin
Parish registers: 1563
Bishop's Transcripts: 1691
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Humbleyard
Diocese Norwich
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Norfolk
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bracon Ash St Nicholas is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Norwich.

The church has an extension to form the mausoleum of the Berney family and has fourteenth century architecture.

BRACON-ASH (St. Nicholas), a parish, in the union of Henstead, hundred of Humbleyard, E. division of Norfolk, 6 miles (S. W.) from Norwich.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

  • Henstead 1837-1938 sometimes Humbleyard and Henstead in early registrations
  • Norwich Outer 1939-1974
  • Norwich

Church records

Bracon Ash, Norfolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS ATs = England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812 (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS BTs = England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941 (FamilySearch) - free[4]
TIN = Tinstaafl Transcripts - free[5]
Bracon Ash, Norfolk Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1725-1880
1725-1812
1563-2002
FS ATs 1725-1812 1725-1812 1725-1812
FS BTs Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
TIN 1813-1880


Norfolk Record Office reference PD 206 / 1-6

This parish's registers do not appear on FamilySearch as no microfilm for the parish is held
A search of the FamilySearch Catalogue identifies the following Archdeacon's transcripts:

Content Film
Baptisms 1725-1811 Marriages 1726-1812 Burials 1725-1812 FHL BRITISH Film
1526813 Item 3

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438863.

Poor Law Unions

For more information on the history of the workhouse, see Peter Higginbotham's web site: www.workhouses.org.uk and http://www.workhouses.org.uk/index.html?Henstead/Henstead.shtml

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. & lt;ref& gt;Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 326-331.& lt;/ref& gt. Date accessed: 2 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.
  3. 'England, Norfolk Archdeacon's Transcripts, 1600-1812,' FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  4. 'England, Norfolk, Bishop's Transcripts, 1685-1941', FamilySearch, accessed 31 March 2014.
  5. 'Norfolk Baptism Project 1813 to 1880,' Tinstaafl Transcripts, accessed 11 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:23.
  • This page has been accessed 2,024 times.