Bradford, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Bradford

Guide to Bradford, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Here is a comprehensive List of Churches and Chapels within Bradford St Peter Parish Boundary.

Contents

Parish History

BRADFORD (St. Peter), a borough, market-town, and parish [with several chapelries and ancient chapels attached to it], a registration district and the head of a union, in the wapentake of Morley, West Riding, Yorkshire, comprising the townships of Allerton, North Bierley, Bowling, Bradford, Clayton, Eccleshill, Heaton, Manningham, Shipley, and Wilsden, and the chapelries of Haworth, Horton, and Thornton. The churches dedicated to St. James and St. John are listed under Horton, St. Jude's church is listed  under the township of Manningham. There are other churches that have been erected at Bradford. These include:

  • All Saints Church, Bradford
  • Christ Church, Bradford
  • Holy Trinity, Bradford
  • St Andrews, Bradford
  • St Chrysostom Bradford
  • St Clement's, Bradford
  • St John, Bradford
  • St Jude, Bradford
  • St Michael, Bradford
  • St Phillip's Church, Bradford
  • St Thomas, Bradford Moor
  • St Augustine's Church, Bandfoot
  • St Matthew's, Bierley,
  • St John the Evangelist Bierly
  • Bowling St. John
  • Buttershaw St Paul
  • Clayton St John the Baptist
  • Cullingworth
  • Daisy-Hill
  • Denholme-Gate
  • Denholme St Paul's
  • Eccleshill
  • Fairweather Green St. Saviour's
  • Great Horton St. John the Evangelist - 1809
  • Greengates St. John the Evangelist
  • Haworth St. Michael and all All Angels
  • Horton All Saints - 1840
  • Horton St. James - 1840
  • Laister-Dyke
  • Little Horton All Saints
  • Low Moor St. Mark's
  • New Leeds
  • Manningham St. Jude
  • Manningham St. Luke
  • Manningham St. Mary Magdalene
  • Manninghame St. Paul's 
  • Oxenhope St. Mary the Virgin
  • Shearbridge St Columba's
  • 'Shipley'St. Paul's
  • Stanbury St. Gabriel's
  • Thorpe Edge St. John the Divine
  • Thornton St. Jame's
  • West Bowling St. Stephen's
  • Wibsey St. Paul's 

Other places of worship include: Baptists, Quakers/Society of Friends, Independents, Primitive Methodists, Wesleyan Methodist, Unitarians, and Roman Catholics.[1]


Resources

Archives

The Bradford Archive records are a unique collection of books/documents which includes references to the working and administration of the Parish over the last 500 years and also the running of the Bradfield Workhouse/Poor House based in High Bradfield from 1759 to 1847. More than 40,000 records are now available online at this link.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from the parish registers of St Peter Bradford and its attached chapelry registers within its ancient boundary exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry - (£)[2]
IARC = Archive.org
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch.org
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
OXTRST = OxenhopeBurialGrndsTrust
BRADFORD PARISH (1596) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1596-1812 1596-1812 1596-1812 1596-1812 1596-1812 1596-1812
FREG 1601-1812
FS 1666-1912

1715-1880

1675-1930

HATH None

1596-1708

None

BRADFORD ALL SAINTS (1813) a.k.a. Horton All Saints

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1813-1833

None

None

BRADFORD CHRIST CHURCH (1815) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1838-1910

1859

None

BRADFORD HOLY TRINITY (1864) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1864-1871 (part)

None

None

BRADFORD ST ANDREWS Chapelry (1853) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1853-1860

None

None

BRADFORD ST CLEMENTS (1894) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BRADFORD ST CHRYSOSTOM (1878) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1878-1893

None

None

BRADFORD ST JOHN Chapelry (1854) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BRADFORD ST JUDE Chapelry (1857) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1857-1863
None

None

BRADFORD ST MICHAEL Chapelry (1867)

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1867-1884

None

None

BRADFORD ST PHILIPS Church (1861)

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BRADFORD ST THOMAS Chapelry (1862) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1862-1880

None

None

BIERLEY CHAPELRY (1824) Online records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1824-1890

None

1847-1855

FS (Bts) 1847-1862




 BUTTERSHAW CHAPELRY (1829) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1829-1910

1842-1912

1838-1908

CLAYTON CHAPELRY (1851) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
DENHOLME GATE CHAPELRY (1674) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1674, 1846-1848

1674, 1847-1848

1674, 1846-1848

ECCLESHILL CHAPELRY (1844) Online Records - see also Dewsbury Parish

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1844-1896

None

1825-1838

HAWORTH CHAPELRY (1600) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1645-1910
1645-1910
1645-1935
1645-1935
1645-1884
1645-1884
FS 1645-1847

1645-1837

1736-1847

JOIN None

1813-1837

None

GREAT HORTON ALL SAINTS Chapelry(1809) online records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1809-1897

None

None

LITTLE HORTON ST JAMES Chapelry (1838) online records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
HORTON ST JOHN (1840) Online records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
                                   HORTON ST OSWALDS CHAPELRY (1902) Online Records

             Baptisms           Marriages               Burials
AC [1]




LAISTER-DYKE CHAPELRY (1861) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
                                                LOWMOOR ST MARK CHAPELRY (1858) Online Records

           Baptisms                Marriages                   Burials
FS 1887-1899
None
None
                                           MANNINGHAM ST JUDE CHAPELRY (1843) Online Records

             Baptisms               Marriages             Burials
FS 1843-1861




                                          MANNINGHAM ST MARY CHAPELRY (1878) Online records

            Baptisms              Marriages            Burials
FS 1878-1896
None
None
                                           MANNINGHAM ST PAUL CHAPELRY (1843) Online Records

             Baptisms
            Marraiges
           Burials        
FS 1843-1897
None
None
                                            OXENHOPE ST MARY THE VIRGIN (1847) online records

           Baptisms
           Marriages
          Burials
OXTRST
None

None

1800-1900
THORNTON ST. JAME'S CHAPELRY (1682) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images      
FS 1682-1837
None
None
                                                              WIBSEY CHAPELRY (1661)

             Baptisms              Marriages                    Burials
FS 1730-1835
1730-1753
1721-1747;1755-1757; 1763-1765;1777-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1599.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464253.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 326-331. Date accessed: 23 December 2013.
  2. 'West Yorkshire, England, Baptisms, Marriages and Burials, 1512-1812,' Ancestry, accessed 12 May 2014.
  3. 'Yorkshire West Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 22 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 4 November 2014, at 22:02.
  • This page has been accessed 10,088 times.