Bradford County, FloridaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

Guide to Bradford County Florida genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

United States  go to  Florida  go to  Bradford County

Hand and keyboard.jpg Florida
Online Records


Bradford County, Florida
Map
Map of Florida highlighting Bradford County
Location in the state of Florida
Map of the U.S. highlighting Florida
Location of Florida in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 21, 1858
County Seat Starke
Courthouse
Adopt-a-wiki page
Flgenlogo100.png This page adopted by:
The FLGenWeb Project
who welcome you to contribute.
and its representative
Bradford County FLGenWeb
Adopt a page today

Contents

County Courthouse

Bradford County Courthouse
PO Box B;
Starke, FL 32091-1286;
Phone: 904.964.6280 

Formerly New River County Name changed to Bradford 6 Dec 1861;
County Clerk has marriage records from 1875,
probate and court records from 1892
and land records from 1876[1]

History

Named for Captain Richard Bradford who was killed in the American Civil War's Battle of Santa Rosa Island.

Parent County

New River County was created on December 21, 1858 from Columbia County by an act of the Florida Legislature. December 6, 1861 New River County was divided into two counties. The new county was named Baker County and New River's name was changed to BRADFORD County in honor of Captain Bradford who was killed in the Civil War.

In the 1860 New River population was 3,820 In 1861 the population was virtually halved by the carving of Baker from New River. The 1870 Bradford County's population was 1,325 people and the decrease was not due to a massive migration away from the area, but due to Bradford having been split into several Counties.
County seat: Starke [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Florida county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Florida County Boundary Maps" (1821-1997) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Record Loss

1865 -- Courthouse burned and many records were damaged. For a list of record loss in Florida counties see: Florida Counties with Burned Courthouses


For further information on researching in burned counties, see the following:

Places / Localities

Populated Places

Brooker | Hampton | Lawtey | Starke| Clayno | Graham | Hampton Beach | Heilbronn | New River | Pleasant Grove | Sampson | Saxton | Theressa

Neighboring Counties

Alachua | Baker | Clay | Putnam | Union

Resources

Cemeteries

Bradford County Cemeteries - Bradford County FLGenWeb

LDS Cemetery Records

Florida Vol. 1
page 64 - Conner Cemetery
page 66 - Dyal Cemetery
page 76 - Evergreen Cemetery
Florida Vol. 7
page 114 - Evergreen Cemetery
page 118 - Kelly Family Cemetery
page 119 - McKinney Family Cemetery
page 121 - Markey Family Cemetery
page 122 - Parrish Family Cemetery
page 123 - Strickland Family Cemetery


USGenWeb Archives

USGenWebTombstone Transcription Project

Individual cemeteries:

Census

For tips on accessing Bradford County, Florida census records online, see: Florida Census.

1860 Federal Census Slave Schedule

The 1885 Florida State Population Census includes sex, age, relationship, occupation, place of birth of each family member and parents; also census for agriculture, and mortality.

Population


The following information was provided by the U.S.Census Bureau.


  • 1860    -    3,820
  • 1870    -    3,671
  • 1880    -    6,112
  • 1890    -    7,516
  • 1900    -   10,295
  • 1910    -   14,090
  • 1920    -   12,503
  • 1930    -    9,405
  • 1940    -    8,717
  • 1950    -   11,457
  • 1960    -   12,446
  • 1970    -   14,625
  • 1980    -   20,023
  • 1990    -   22,515
  • 2000    -   26,088

Church

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Florida denominations, view the Florida Church Records wiki page.

Court

Land

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Florida Land and Property for additional information about early Florida land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bradford County, Florida. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories see the wiki page section Florida Local Histories.

Maps

Flbradford.png

Military

Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bradford County, Florida newspapers in online catalogs like:

Probate

Probate records are held by the Bradford County, Florida Clerk of Court and are housed at the Bradford County, Florida Courthouse. Microfilmed records can be found online at Florida Probate Records, 1784-1990. See the wiki page Florida Probate Records for information about how to use probate records.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, and adoptions.

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district. For more information see the wiki page Florida Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Florida Department of Health, Bureau of Vital Statistics, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online. See also How to order Florida Vital Records

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Florida.

Marriage
  • 1875-1885 - Bradford County Marriage Books A thru C 1875-1885. Batch M512951 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1875-1901 - Bradford County Marriage Books A thru C 1875-1901. Batch M736978 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1901-1916 - Bradford County Marriage Books D thru F 1901-1916. Batch M734991 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1901-1916 - Bradford County Marriage Books D thru F 1901-1916. Batch M734992 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1901-1916 - Bradford County Marriage Books D thru F 1901-1916. Batch M734993 at FamilySearch - free.[3]
  • 1916-1927 - Bradford County Marriage Books G and H 1916-1927. Batch M734716 at FamilySearch - free.[3]

Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Web Sites

References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Bradford County, Florida. Page 133 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. 3.0 3.1 3.2 3.3 3.4 3.5 Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/54/Igiflorida.pdf.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 25 July 2014, at 18:22.
  • This page has been accessed 9,669 times.