Bradley County, ArkansasEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States Gotoarrow.png Arkansas Gotoarrow.png Bradley County

Guide to Bradley County Arkansas genealogy. Birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Arkansas State with State Seal.png Arkansas
Online Records


Bradley County, Arkansas
Map
Map of Arkansas highlighting Bradley County
Location in the state of Arkansas
Map of the U.S. highlighting Arkansas
Location of Arkansas in the U.S.
Facts
Founded December 18, 1840
County Seat Warren
Courthouse
Address Bradley County Courthouse
101 E Cedar Street
Warren, AR 71671
Phone: 870.226.3464

Contents

County Courthouse

Bradley County Courthouse
101 E Cedar Street
Warren, AR 71671
Phone: 870.226.3464

County Clerk has marriage records from 1846 and probate records from 1850; Clerk Circuit Court has divorce, court, court and land records.[1]

Beginning years for Bradley County, Arkansas government records[2]
Birth Marriage Death Court Land Probate
1914* 1846 1914* 1841 1841 1850
*State birth and death records began in 1914. Limited compliance until 1920's

History

Parent County

  • 1840--Bradley County was created 18 December 1840 from Union County. County seat: Warren [3]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Arkansas county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Arkansas County Boundary Maps" (1813-1925) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.


Variant Spellings

Record Loss

For a list of record loss in Arkansas counties see: Arkansas Counties with Burned Courthouses

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Neighboring Counties

Ashley  • Calhoun  • Cleveland  • Drew  • Union

Bradley CountyDrew CountyAshley CountyUnion CountyCalhoun CountyOuachita CountyDallas CountyCleveland CountyLincoln CountyDesha CountyJefferson CountyGrant CountyClark CountyColumbia CountyARBradley.JPG

Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Arkansas denominations, view the Arkansas Church Records wiki page.


Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Arkansas Land and Property for additional information about early Arkansas land grants. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.


Local Histories

Local histories are available for Bradley County, Arkansas. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see Arkansas Local Histories.

History Timeline

Emphasis for this timeline is on events that affected migration, records, or record-keeping. Unless otherwise mentioned, the events below were gleaned from Arkansas County - The Encyclopedia of Arkansas History & Culture [1]

  • The area now known as Bradley County has been inhabited for more than 10,000 years. The descendants of those early residents include the Tunica and possibly the Quapaw.
  • 1673 - Father Jacques Marquette, a Jesuit, and Louis Joliet, a trader, were the first Frenchmen to set foot in the Arkansas.
  • 1686 - The first French permanent settlement, Arkansas Post, was set up by Henri de Tonti.
  • 1763 - The Treaty of Paris marked the end of the French-Indian War and of French imperialism in North America.
  • 1801 - Spain surrendered control of Louisiana Territory to France.
  • 1803 - France sold the Louisiana Territory to the United States.
  • 1803 - The United States government purchased over 800,000 square miles of land west of the Mississippi River from France in the Louisiana Purchase.
  • 1900-1910 - Warren, the county seat, became home to three large milling operations and as a result of the lumber business, Warren’s population doubled

Maps

Military

Civil War

Regiments. Service men in Bradley County, Arkansas served in various regiments. Men often joined a company (within a regiment) that originated in their county. Listed below are companies that were specifically formed in Bradley County, Arkansas:

- 2nd Battalion, Arkansas Calvalry (Confederate) , Company B
- 6th Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Confederate) , Company A
- 8th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate)
- 20th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company H
- 26th Regiment, Arkansas Infantry (Confederate), Company D

Men from this county served in the 3rd Regiment, Arkansas Cavalry (Union)[4], Company C

Naturalization

Newspapers

Finding More Arkansas Newspapers

Additional newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Bradley County, Arkansas newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Probate records of Arkansas have been kept by the probate or county courts. You can obtain copies of the original records by contacting the clerk's office in the county courthouse.

The Family History Library has microfilm copies of many Arkansas probate records. See Arkansas Probate Records for more information about Probate records in Arkansas, including statewide indexes.


  • Probate Records 1841-1933 Part of: Arkansas Probate Records, 1817-1979 FamilySearch Historical Collections (Free, browse images)
    • Includes Dockets 1880-1907; Guardian bonds and letters; Letters of administration 1841-1858; Probate records 1841-1880; Wills 1860-1933

Taxation

Arkansas tax records replace missing censuses and provide lists of residents during years between censuses. There may be gaps of several years for some counties. For more information see Arkansas Taxation.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Arkansas Vital Records State Department of Health, the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online.

See also Arkansas Vital Records Online and Arkansas Statewide Indexes and Collections at the Family History Library.


See also How to order Arkansas Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites



Sites with online indexes or images of records
ARGenWeb ] Free Data may be submitted by individuals or complete transcriptions
USGenWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Sites that search for links pertaining to Bradley County, Arkansas
RootsWeb Free Data may be submitted by individuals or may be complete transcriptions
Linkpendium Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
CyndisList Free Click links. Some sites they link to may have fees ($)
StateofUS.com Free family history resources and government records
Major catalogs for hard copy collections of Bradley County, Arkansas
Books, microfilm, or manuscripts of genealogical records
FamilySearch catalog Select topics. To select towns, add a comma to the search box.
WorldCat To find nearby libraries that have specific items, see WorldCat Online Catalog.
Allen County Public Library located in Indiana They are heavily involved in digitizing.
Arkansas History Commission AR state agency involved in organizing and maintaining state and local history of AR
See also local libraries and Arkansas Archives and Libraries
Social networking sites pertaining to Bradley County, Arkansas
GeneaBloggers enter "arkansas" in the search box to see a list and links to Arkansas Blogs
Google+ list of groups from "arkansas genealogy" search
Facebook list of groups from "Arkansas Genealogy" search
genealogy.com Bradley County, AR Genealogy Forum
ancestry.com Bradley County Message Board

References

  1. The Handybook for Genealogists : United States of America, 10th ed., (Draper, UT: Everton Publishers, 2002), p. 66.
  2. Alice Eichholz, Red Book: American State, County and Town Sources, 3rd ed. (Salt Lake City: Ancestry Pub., 2004), 65-67. At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27rb 2004.
  3. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  4. Desmond Walls Allen, Third Arkansas Union Cavalry, (Conway, Arkansas : Arkansas Research, c1987), pp. 33-92. FHL book 976.7 M28dc
  5. Genealogical Society of Utah, Parish and Vital Records List (July 1998). Microfiche. Digital version at https://www.familysearch.org/learn/wiki/en/images/5/5c/Igiarkansasad.pdf.
  6. FamilySearch Wiki contributors, "Arkansas County Marriages (FamilySearch Historical Records)," in FamilySearch Wiki, accessed 18 April 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 July 2014, at 19:40.
  • This page has been accessed 9,528 times.