Bradley le Moors, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png StaffordshireGotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Bradley le Moors, Staffordshire family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bradley le Moors, Staffordshire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred South Totmonslow
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Cheadle PLU
Registration District Cheadle
Records begin
Parish registers: 1678
Bishop's Transcripts: 1674
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Newcastle and Stone
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRADLEY-in-the-Moors (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Cheadle, S. division of the hundred of Totmonslow, N. division of the county of Stafford, 4 miles (E. S. E.) from Cheadle.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bradley le Moors parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = Staffordshire Parish Register Collection (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FREG = FreeREG - free[3]
FS = FamilySearch - free[4]
NBI = National Burial Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[5]
BRADLEY LE MOORS PARISH (1674) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1815-1900 1815-1900
FREG 1674-1989
1674-1977
1674-1993
FS 1674-1868
1679-1851

NBI

1596-1837

Deposited parish registers at Staffordshire Record Office Bap 1674-1989 Mar 1674-1977 Bur 1674-1993
Lichfield Record Office holdings of Bishop's Transcripts Bap 1674-1868 Mar 1674-1829 Bur 1674-1867

Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by StaffordshireFreereg and can be searched for free.

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474630.

Poor Law Unions

Cheadle Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/BradleyintheMoors/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 331-334. Date accessed: 16 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Parish Records Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 21 August 2014.
  3. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 17 September 2013.
  4. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  5. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  6. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 22 August 2014, at 00:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,706 times.