Bradninch, DevonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bradninch, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Tiverton PLU|
|Parish registers: 1559|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1606|
|Probate Court||Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Archdeaconry of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
BRADNINCH (St. Disen), a town and parish, having separate jurisdiction, in the union of Tiverton, locally in the hundred of Hayridge, N. division of Devon, 8 miles (N. E.) from Exeter. This place, anciently called Braineis. There is a place of worship for Particular Baptists. 
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241313.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
- Vision of Britain
Add here any relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:18.
- This page has been accessed 1,374 times.
Share Your Opinion!
Review redesigns of wiki pages and give your feedbackImprove the Wiki