Bradshaw, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Bradshaw, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bradshaw, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Salford
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Bolton PLU
Registration District Bolton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1814
Bishop's Transcripts: 1781
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bolton le Moors
Diocese Manchester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Chester (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

BRADSHAW, a chapelry, in the parish and union of Bolton, hundred of Salford, S. division of the county of Lancaster, 2 miles (N. E.) from Bolton. There is a small Baptist place of worship. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Online index of Lancashire Births, Marriages and Deaths Lancashire BMD

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Bradshaw chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Bolton le Moors St. Peter to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


BRADSHAW ST MAXENTIUS (formerly ST MARY) Chapelry (1781) Indexes
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1857-1876 None 1857-1890 
LOPC None None None
LBMD  None 1857-1992  None
BOLTON Le MOORS ST PETER PARISH (1573) Indexes (ancient parish containing BRADSHAW Chapelry)
Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS  1573-1660; 1713-1829 1573-1837 None
LOPC 1573-1660 1573-1660; 1813-1938 1573-1660; 1712-1733; 1765-1801
LBMD 1837-1886 1837-1992 1837-1886
AC 1587-1660 1587-1660 1587-1660


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Bradshaw and comprising the whole ancient parish of Bolton le Moors St. Peter to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BOLTON LE MOORS ST PETER PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306921.

Genealogy

A Greenhalgh Family of Bradshaw by Fox (nee Greehalgh), Brenda M. Family History and Family Tree chart of Richard Greenhalgh and Isobell Fflelcher dating from 1746-1951 and descendants.  Article in The Lancashire Family History and Heraldry Society Mag. vol. 13, no. 1, pages 32-41, FHL Ref. 942.72 B2r vol. 13.


Poor Law Unions

Bolton, Lancashire Poor Law Union


Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 334-339. Date accessed: 09 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 14 July 2014, at 16:54.
  • This page has been accessed 2,646 times.