Bramber with Botolphs, SussexEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Sussex Gotoarrow.png Sussex Parishes

Guide to Bramber with Botolphs, Sussex family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bramber with Botolphs, Sussex
Bramber St Nicholas Sussex.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Steyning
County Sussex
Poor Law Union Steyning PLU
Registration District Steyning
Records begin
Parish registers: 1601; Separate registers exist for Botolphs beginning 1601
Bishop's Transcripts: 1591; Separate records exist for Botolphs beginning 1583
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Storrington
Diocese Chichester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) of Chichester for the Archdeaconry of Chichester
Location of Archive
Sussex Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRAMBER (St. Nicholas), aparish, in the union and hundred of Steyning, rape of Bramber, W. division of Sussex, 1 mile (E. S. E.) from Steyning, and 50 miles (S. by W.) from London.[1]

Bramber St Nicholas is an Ancient parish in the Horsham district of West Sussex and includes Botolphs within its boundaries. The church at Upper Beeding, Sussex is also within the united benefice (See boundary map).

A history of the church is available Bramber St Nicholas

The Parish Church  of St Nicholas in the Street Bramber has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

The Church of St Botolph in Annington Road Bramber has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

Botolphs St Botolph West Sussex.jpg
A history of St Botolphs church St Botolph, Botolphs

Bramber Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

Botolphs Sussex Online Parish Clerks(OPC)

See also {http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bramber+ Bramber Wikipedia] Botolphs Wikipedia

Parish boundary map

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1837 this parish was in the Steyning Registration District until the 1935 reorganization of registration services
Certificates can be ordered from
West Sussex
Centralized Certificates Office
Registration Service
West Sussex Record Office
County Hall
Chichester
PO19 1RN
Phone: 01243 642122

Church records

Bramber parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[2]
Bramber Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1584-1903
1585-1901
1585-1901

Botolphs parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[3]
Botolphs Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PRTS 1583-1908
1583-1907
1583-1904

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bramber with Botolphs

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474673.
[1]

Poor Law Unions

Steyning Poor Law Union, Sussex

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 339-343. Date accessed: 20 September 2013
  2. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.
  3. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 22 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 August 2014, at 21:38.
  • This page has been accessed 1,979 times.