Bramcote, NottinghamshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Gotoarrow.png Nottinghamshire Parishes

Bramcote, Nottinghamshire
Bramcote St Michael and All Angels Nottinghamshire.jpg
Bramcote St Michael and All Angels Nottinghamshire
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxtow
County Nottinghamshire
Poor Law Union Shardlow PLU
Registration District Shardlow
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562; For more records see Attenborough
Bishop's Transcripts: 1627
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Nottingham
Diocese Lincoln
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Exchequer and Prerogative Courts of the Archbishop of York
Location of Archive
Nottinghamshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRAMCOTE, a parish, in the union of Shardlow, S. division of the wapentake of Broxtow, N. division of the county of Nottingham, 5 miles (W. by S.) from Nottingham.[1]

Additional information:

Bramcote was originally formed as a chapelry within Attenborough, Nottinghamshire Ancient parish.

Bramcote St Michael and All Angels was built in 1861 as an Ecclesiastical parish church

Bramcote Wikipedia


Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

After 1935 Bramcote registration was part of Nottinghamshire registration

Shardlow registration District GRO volumes : XIX (1837-51); 7b (1852-1946); 3A (1946-74).

Registers are now held at
The Register Office, Royal Oak House, Market Place, Derby, DE1 3AR.
Tel: 01332 256526/35/36. Fax: 01332 256525.
E-mail: registeroffice@derby.gov.uk

Church records

Bramcote, Nottinghamshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
BRAMCOTE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
PALL
1562-1812

Bramcote St Michael and All Angels

Deposited records at Nottinghamshire Archives Baptisms 1562-1947 Marriages 1576-1954 Burials 1562-1902 Bishop's Transcripts 1627-1857
Nottinghamshire County Council
County Hall
West Bridgford
Nottingham
NG2 7QP telephone: 08449 808080 online

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bramcote

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 438904.

See Nottinghamshire Census

Poor Law Unions

Shardlow Poor Law Union, Derbyshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Nottinghamshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Date accessed: 06 December 2013.
  2. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 05:06.
  • This page has been accessed 1,050 times.