Bramham, Yorkshire GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bramham, Yorkshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Barwick Gilbert Union PLU|
|Parish registers: 1586|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1633|
|Rural Deanery||New Ainsty|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean and Chapter of York|
|Location of Archive|
|Yorkshire Record Office|
BRAMHAM (All Saints), a parish, in the Upper division of the wapentake of Barkstone-Ash, W. riding of York; comprising the townships of Bramham-withOglethorpe and Clifford, with the modern village of Boston; and containing 2760 inhabitants, of whom 1194 are in the township of Bramham-with-Oglethorpe, 4¼ miles (S. S. E.) from Wetherby. There are chapels, forming separate incumbencies, at Boston and Clifford; and places of worship in the parish for Wesleyans and Ranters. 
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Online data content from chapelry registers of Bramham exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:
|FMP= FindMyPast - (£)|
|FS = FamilySearch.org|
|JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)|
|BRAMHAM PARISH (1586) Online Records|
List of Chapelry's in this Parish
To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.
This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1586.
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464249.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
- This page was last modified on 2 May 2015, at 20:52.
- This page has been accessed 3,962 times.
Future Changes to the Wiki
Changes are coming to the FamilySearch Research Wiki in the near future. Find out more on the Wiki Community News page.Community News