Bramley, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bramley

Guide to Bramley, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bramley, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Basingstoke
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Basingstoke PLU
Registration District Basingstoke
Records begin
Parish registers: 1580
Bishop's Transcripts: 1705
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Basingstoke
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRAMLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union and hundred of Basingstoke, Basingstoke and N. divisions of the county of Southampton, 4½ miles (N. by E.) from Basingstoke.[1].

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bramley parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3]
FREG = FreeREG - free[4]
FS = FamilySearch - free[5]
GENUKI = GENUKI - free[6]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[7]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[8]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[9]
BRAMLEY PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1580-1812

FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FREG
1580-1812

FS 1580-1875
1580-1837

GENUKI
1580-1812

JOIN
1580-1812

PALL
1580-1812

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812


Brocas Chapel, St. James, Bramley, A listing of hatchments for this chapel.  starting with Bernard Brocas the 11th died 8 Nov. 1777, Bernard Broacas, the thirteenth, died 5 July 1839, Bernard Brocas the 14th, died 1861, and one for the wirfe of Bernard Broacas the thwelfth.  The Brocas crest is a Moor's head wearing an eastern crown, Bernard Brocas the second was allowed to bear this crest from the mid 14th C, after defeating the King of Morocco in battle.  The weather vanes on the church are in the form of the crest.  Listing to be found in the hampshire Family Historian, vol.XII,no.1. May 1985,page 59, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h v. 12

Census records

The Reminiscences of William Clift of Bramley. - born 1828 and wrote These my Reminescences 1908"  It tells of the many families and farms in the area, and ties in with 1851 Census returns.  The article in the magazine gives a list of names that are covered in this book.  The North Hants Family History Group, are willing to photocopy the part is relevant to your ancestors.  This  article is written byMichael Ford, and is to be found in The Hampshire Family Historian. vol. VII, no. 4. Feb 1981, pages127-128, Family History Library Ref. 942.27 B2h


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288792.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848), pp. 339-343. Date accessed: 19 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  4. 'Hampshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 23 September 2013.
  5. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  6. Phillimore Hampshire Parish Marriage Registers, Vol. 1 (1900). Digital version at GENUKI - free.
  7. 'Hampshire Coverage,' The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  8. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  9. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 17 April 2014, at 03:33.
  • This page has been accessed 3,396 times.