Brampton, CumberlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England go to Cumberland go to Cumberland Parishes

Guide to Brampton, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brampton, Cumberland
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Eskdale
County Cumberland
Poor Law Union Brampton PLU
Registration District Brampton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1663
Bishop's Transcripts: 1665
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Carlisle
Diocese Carlisle
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Carlisle (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cumberland Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRAMPTON (St. Martin), a parish, and the head of a union, in Eskdale ward, E. division of Cumberland; 9½ miles (N. E. by E.) from Carlisle, and 305 (N. by W.) from London. There are places of worship for Independents, Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists, and Presbyterians.[1]


Resources

If you live in Cumbria then you will have access to a variety of resources; however, for those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at Family History Centers.  Refer to Brampton and Cumberland in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Brampton was in Brampton district. To search an index of Brampton district records go to FreeBMD. The Cumberland Civil Registration article tells more about these records.

Church records

Parish registers for Brampton, 1663-1961 at the FHL

Bishop's transcripts for Brampton, 1665-1872 at the FHL

Non-Conformist Churches

Census records

There are census records available for Brampton from 1841 to 1911. Census records are available on a variety of subscription and other websites. If you need to consult the Brampton Censuson microfilm, refer to the library catalogue.
There is statistical data available for the census years 1801 to 1931 that records the number of houses, families, people, and other statistical data for every parish in the county.
Refer to the Cumberland Census wiki article for details.

Abstract of the Answers and Returns made pursuant to an Act ...
1831 Census
free google ebook
Brampton Parish - 16970 Acres or 26 Sq. Miles

Employment

Townships
Houses
Agriculture
Trade
Others
Persons
Brampton
488
53
338
231
2842
Easby
16
8
1
7
98
Naworth
77
25
22
36
405
Totals
581
86
361
274
3345

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

Brampton on GENUKI

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848) Date accessed and adapted 18 July 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 November 2014, at 15:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,189 times.