Bramshott, HampshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Gotoarrow.png Hampshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Bramshott

Guide to Bramshott, Hampshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bramshott, Hampshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Finch-Dean
County Hampshire
Poor Law Union Headley Incorporation PLU
Registration District Farnborough
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1780
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Alton
Diocese Winchester
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester
Location of Archive
Hampshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, described Bramshott like this:

BRAMSHOTT, a village and a parish in the district of Farnborough, and county of Hants. The village stands near the verge of the county, 1½ mile NW of Liphook r. station, and 4. W of Haslemere and has a post office under Liphook. The parish is intersected by the Guildford and New Portsmouth railway; and includes the hamlet of Liphook, which has a head post office.[1].

Bramshott St Mary the Virgin is an Ancient Parish mainly in Hampshire but partly in Sussex which includes the hamlet of Liphook and Bohunt Farm.

The church yard is noteworthy for the Canadian War Graves as a result of fatalities during the 1918 influenza outbreak.

See also Bramshott Wikipedia and Bramshott St Mary website

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

From 1846-1869 see Farnborough registration district

Church records

Bramshott, Hampshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
PRTS = The Parish Register Transcription Society - (£)[4]
BRAMSHOTT PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP 1700s-1800s
1700s-1800s
1500s-1800s
FS 1560-1876
1560-1875

PRTS 1780-1812
1780-1812
1780-1812

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bramshott

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288799.

See Hampshire Census

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

 Prior to the 1911 census the household schedule was destroyed and only the enumerator's schedule survives.

The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved.
Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search.

Poor Law Unions

Headley Gilbert Union, Hampshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Hampshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales, 1870. Date accessed: 19 June 2013.
  2. 'Over 1.4 million new Hampshire parish records published', Find My Past, accessed 3 October 2013.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Hampshire, England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 8 October 2013.
  4. 'Parish Records - Coverage', The Parish Register Transcription Society, accessed 30 September 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 19 July 2014, at 00:06.
  • This page has been accessed 2,458 times.