Bramshott, Sussex GenealogyEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Bramshott, Sussex ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Poor Law Union||Headley Incorporation PLU|
|Parish registers: 1560|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1780|
|Probate Court||Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Winchester|
|Location of Archive|
|Sussex Record Office|
BRAMSHOTT (St. Mary), aparish, in the hundred of Alton, Petersfield and N. divisions of Hampshire, 4½ miles (W. by N.) from Haslemere; containing, with the hamlet of Liphook.
There are no Sussex record sources for that part of the parish.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
From 1846-1869 see Farnborough registration district
Refer to Bramshott, Hampshire
Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bramshott
See Hampshire Census
FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
Category:England Family History Centres to locate local Family History Centres in UK
Introduction to LDS Family History Centers to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.
Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)
The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.
Poor Law Unions
The parish was within the Headley Incorporation (Hampshire)see Headley Gilbert Union, Hampshire
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Sussex Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.It is more fruitful to search Hampshire Probate Jurisdictions, Parishes beginning with B
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
| This section requires expansion with:
any additional relevant sites that aren't mentioned above.
- This page was last modified on 3 February 2015, at 22:44.
- This page has been accessed 1,289 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More