BrandonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Gotoarrow.png Norfolk Parishes

Guide to Brandon, Norfolk ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brandon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lackford
County Norfolk
Poor Law Union Thetford PLU
Registration District Thetford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fordham
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Norfolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRANDON (St. Peter), a market-town and parish, in the union of Thetford, partly in the hundred of Grimshoe, W. division of Norfolk, but chiefly in the hundred of Lackford, W. division of Suffolk, 40 miles (N. W.) from Ipswich, and 78 (N. N. E.) from London. There are places of worship for Primitive and Wesleyan Methodists. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brandon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
Brandon Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1771-1893
1726-1897
1728-1812

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Images of the parish registers may be viewed online in Historic Records (formerly Record Search) See also England Norfolk Church of England Parish Registers and Bishops’ Transcripts Norfolk Record Office reference PD 220

England Norfolk Church of England Bishops’ Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Census records

England census records, including for Norfolk County, have been indexed and the entries have been attached to images to all available census years - 1841-1911, at the following websites:

  • FindMyPast.co.uk - 1841-1911 includes indexes and images
  • Ancestry.co.uk - 1841-1901 includes indexes and images (1911 excepted)
  • FamilySearch - some years available for indexes with some images attached

See Norfolk Census transcript of 1891 census

1891 Census Surnames Index courtesy of the Norfolk Transcription Archives

Poor Law Unions

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Norfolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Military Records

WW1 War Memorial courtesy of the Norfolk Transcription Archives

Websites

Norfolk Churches website

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 379-389. Date accessed: 2 September 2013.
  2. 'Norfolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 24 February 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 06:24.
  • This page has been accessed 847 times.