Brandon, SuffolkEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England  Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk   Gotoarrow.png  Suffolk Parishes

Brandon, Suffolk
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lackford
County Suffolk
Poor Law Union Thetford PLU
Registration District Thetford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1653
Bishop's Transcripts: 1571
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Fordham
Diocese Pre-1837 - Norwich; Post-1836 - Ely
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Sudbury
Location of Archive
Suffolk Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Brandon (St. Peter), is a market-town and a parish, in the union and district of Thetford, it is partly in the hundred of Grimshoe, in the west division of Norfolk, but mostly in the hundred of Lackford, in the west division of Suffolk; it is 40 miles NW from Ipswich, and 78 miles N N E from London. The town is on the Little Ouse river. The river forms the northern boundary of Suffolk. A line of railway between Brandon and Norwich was opened in July, 1845. Brandon is 5 miles NW of Thetford parish, and has a main post office. There are four dissenting chapels;  The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, Primitive Methodist, Society of Friends/Quaker, and Wesleyan Methodist.[1][2][3]

Resources

If you live in Suffolk you will have access to a variety of resources at local archives and libraries.  For those who live further afield, one can access microfilm and online records at LDS Family History Centres.  Refer to Brandon and Suffolk in the FamilySearch Catalogue for available records.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Brandon was a parish which was partly in both counties of Norfolk and Suffolk until 1895 when administrative boundary changes placed it wholy in the county of Suffolk.

  • Thetford 1837-1895
  • Thetford 1895-1935 (county of Suffolk)
  • Newmarket 1935-

Church records

  • Church of England Parish Records begin in 1653
  • Church of England Bishop Transcripts begin in 1571

Brandon, Suffolk parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

1813 = Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) (findmypast) - (£)[4]
BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[5]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[6][7]
FREG = FreeREG - free[8]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[9]
Brandon, Suffolk Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
1813 1813-1837
BOYD
1728-1754

FMP 1653-1682 1653-1681
FREG 1770-1893
1726-1897
1728-1812
NBI

1750-1900

Copies of the orginal Parish Registers are available on film through FamilySearch Centres and at the Family History Library. The film number is 993226

Non-Conformist

Genuki.org.uk provieds a list of these churches, click here.

  • Copies of the original Wesleyan Parish Registers are available on film through FamilySearch Centres and at the Family History Library. The film number is 825399
  • Copies of the original church records for the Brandon Branch of the British Mission of the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints, organized 30 September 1849 are available on film through FamilySearch Centres and at the Family History Library. The film number is 86984
  • For other church records, check the FamilySearch Catalog on the county level.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474639.


The 1911 census of England and Wales was taken on the night of Sunday 2 April 1911 and in addition to households and institutions such as prisons and workhouses, canal boats merchant ships and naval vessels it attempted to include homeless persons. The schedule was completed by an individual and for the first time both this record and the enumerator's schedule were preserved. Two forms of boycott of the census by women are possible due to frustration at government failure to grant women the universal right to vote in parliamentary and local elections. The schedule either records a protest by failure to complete the form in respect of the women in the household or women are absent due to organisation of groups of women staying away from home for the whole night. Research estimates that several thousand women are not found by census search. Find my Past 1911 census search



Poor Law Unions

Thetford Poor Law Union

See also England Norfolk Poor Law Union Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Norfolk Poor Law Unions

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Suffolk Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References 

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 343-347. Adapted. Accessed 21 September 2013.
  2. John Marius, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72) Adapted. Accessed 21 September 2013.
  3. Family Search England Jurisdictions 1851 FamilySearch.orgAccessed 28 February 2014
  4. 'Suffolk Marriage Index (1813-37) Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 9 December 2013.
  5. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online. Described as 'Brandon Ferry.'
  6. 'Suffolk Baptism Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  7. 'Suffolk "Early" Burial Index Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 6 December 2013.
  8. 'Suffolk Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 3 December 2013.
  9. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 4 December 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:45.
  • This page has been accessed 1,547 times.