Branscombe, DevonEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Devon Gotoarrow.png Devon Parishes

Guide to Branscombe, Devon family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Branscombe, Devon
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Colyton
County Devon
Poor Law Union Honiton PLU
Registration District Honiton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1539
Bishop's Transcripts: 1607
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Aylesbeare
Diocese Exeter
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court A Peculiar of the Court of the Dean and Chapter of Exeter
Location of Archive
Devon Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRANSCOMBE (St. Winifred), a parish, in the union of Honiton, hundred of Colyton, Honiton and S. divisions of Devon, 4¾ miles (E.) from Sidmouth.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Branscombe, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BRAN = Branscombe Project - free[2]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[3]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[4]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[5]
Branscombe, Devon Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BRAN 1539-2002 1539-2003 1578-2004
IARC 1607-1614 1607-1614 1607-1614
IGI 1539-1812 1545-1812
PALL 1790-1812

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241307.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:

  • 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
  • Vision of Britain

Websites

The Branscombe Project www.branscombeproject.org.uk is a cooperative effort between the Devon County Council and the residents of Branscombe to showcase their village.  Included in the website is a complete transcription of the Branscombe St. Winifred's parish records from 1539 to 2002.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 347-350. Date accessed and adapted: 24 October 2013.
  2. 'Branscombe Parish Registers,' Branscombe Project, accessed 12 February 2014.
  3. Roger Granville and W.E. Mugford, Abstracts of the Existing Transcripts of the Lost Parish-Registers of Devon, 1596-1644 (Exeter: William Pollard and Co. Ltd., 1908). Digitised by Internet Archive.
  4. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Devon, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 12 February 2014.
  5. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes (n.p.: n.p., n.d.). FHL British Book 942 V25pm

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 29 April 2014, at 04:17.
  • This page has been accessed 1,005 times.