Brantingham, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png East Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Brantingham


Guide to Brantingham, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

BRANTINGHAM (All Saints),a parish, in the union of Beverley, partly in the Hunsley-Beacon division of the wapentake of Harthill, and partly in the wapentake of Howdenshire, East Riding Yorkshire; comprising the townships of Thorpe-Brantingham and Ellerker, and containing 635 inhabitants, of whom 112 are in Thorpe-Brantingham, 2 miles (S. E. by E.) from South Cave. There is a chapel of ease at Ellerker.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Brantingham exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

AC = Ancestry.co.uk (£)
FREG = FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch.org
HATH = HathiTrust.org
IARC = Archive.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
 BRANTINGHAM PARISH (1653) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
AC 1653-1812

1653-1812

1653-1812

FREG 1659-1812 1654-1812 1633-1812
FS 1653-1866

1654-1882

1685

HATH 1653-1812

1654-1812

1653-1812

IARC 1653-1812

1654-1812

1653-1812

JOIN None

1654-1812

None

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813. Church of England records began in 1653.

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464222.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 347-350. Adapted. Date accessed November 18, 2013.
  2. 'Yorkshire East Riding,' FreeREG, accessed 20 October 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 21 October 2014, at 00:15.
  • This page has been accessed 1,119 times.