Brantley County, GeorgiaEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

United States  Gotoarrow.png  Georgia  Gotoarrow.png  Brantley County

Guide to Brantley County, Georgia ancestry, family history, and genealogy birth records, marriage records, death records, census records, family history, and military records.

Hand and keyboard.jpg Georgia
Online Records
Brantley County, Georgia
Map
Map of Georgia highlighting Brantley County
Location in the state of Georgia
Facts
Founded August 14, 1920
County Seat Nahunta
Courthouse
Address Brantley County Courthouse
234 Brantley St
Nahunta, GA 31553-0398
Phone: 912.462.5192
Brantley County Website

Contents

County Courthouse

Brantley County Courthouse
234 Brantley St
Nahunta, GA 31553-0398
Phone: 912.462.5192


Clerk Superior Court has birth, divorce, probate and court records from 1921.[1]

Beginning Dates for Brantley County, Georgia Government Records
Birth Marriage Death Census Land Probate
1921




1921

History

Parent County

1920--Brantley County was created  14 August 1920 fromCharlton, Pierce and Wayne Counties.
County seat: Nahunta [2]

Boundary Changes

For animated maps illustrating Georgia county boundary changes, "Rotating Formation Georgia County Boundary Maps" (1758-1932) may be viewed for free at the MapofUS.org website.

Variant Spellings

Record Loss

No reported damage.[3]

Places/Localities

Populated Places

Hoboken | Nahunta | Hortense | Waynesville

Neighboring Counties

Camden  • Charlton  • Glynn  • Pierce  • Ware  • Wayne

Brantley CountyCharlton CountyCamden CountyGlynn CountyMcIntosh CountyWayne CountyPierce CountyAppling CountyBacon CountyWare CountyClinch CountyNassau CountyGABrantley.JPG


Genealogy Resources

Research Guides

African Americans

Bible Records

Cemeteries

LDS Cemetery Records

US Vol. 5 page 75 - Hill Creek Cemetery

Census

Church Records

Church records and the information they provide vary significantly depending on the denomination and the record keeper. They may contain information about members of the congregation, such as age, date of baptism, christening, or birth; marriage information and maiden names; and death date. For general information about Georgia denominations, see the Georgia Church Records wiki page.

Court

Genealogy

Land and Property

Land and property records can place an ancestor in a particular location, provide economic information, and reveal family relationships. Land records include: deeds, abstracts and indexes, mortgages, leases, grants and land patents.

See Georgia Land and Property for additional information about early Georgia land grants from the government. After land was transferred to private ownership, subsequent transactions (generally buying and selling deeds) were usually recorded at the county courthouse and where records are currently housed.

Local Histories

Local histories are available for Brantley County, Georgia. County histories may include biographies, church, school and government history, and military information. For more information about local histories, see the wiki page section Georgia Local Histories.

Maps

Gabrantley.jpg

Military

Naturalization

Newspapers

Newspapers Extracts and Abstracts

Newspapers abstracts can sometimes be found using search phrases such as Brantley County, Georgia newspapers in online catalogs like:

Occupations

Probate Records

Colonial courts kept some early probate records.  From 1777 to 1798 and since 1852, the court of ordinary or register of probates has kept probate and guardianship records.  The inferior court handled probate and guardianship matters from 1798 to 1852.

Many probate records to the 1930s and 1940s are at the Georgia Department of Archives and History and the Family History Library on microfilm.

Content: Probate Records may give the decedent's date of death, names of his or her spouse, children, parents, siblings, in-laws, neighbors, associates, relatives, and their place of residence.

Record types: Wills, estates, guardianships, naturalizations, marriage, adoption, and birth and death records (not all years).

Taxation

Taxes were levied on free white males over 21 and slaves aged 21 to 60. These persons are referred to as "polls." Tax listings, or digests, of a county generally list the taxable landowners and other polls and the amount of tax. The records for each county are divided by militia district.

Vital Records

Vital Records consist of births, adoptions, marriages, divorces, and deaths recorded on registers, certificates, and documents. A copy or an extract of most original records can be purchased from the Georgia State Department of Health , the County Clerk's office of the county where the event occurred or order electronically online..

For some online statewide indexes, see the FamilySearch Historical Record Collections for Georgia. See also How to order Georgia Vital Records

Birth
Marriage
Death
Vital Record Substitutes

Genealogy Societies and Libraries

Family History Centers

Websites


References

  1. Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America, 10th ed. (Draper, Utah: Everton Pub., 2002), Brantley County, Georgia. Page 151 At various libraries (WorldCat); FHL Book 973 D27e 2002.
  2. The Handybook for Genealogists: United States of America,10th ed. (Draper, UT:Everton Publishers, 2002).
  3. Paul K. Graham, Georgia Courthouse Disasters (Decatur, Georgia: Genealogy Co., 2013), 15. At various libraries (WorldCat).


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 November 2014, at 20:47.
  • This page has been accessed 9,809 times.