Brasted, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png KentGotoarrow.pngKent Parishes

Guide to Brasted, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Brasted, Kent
Brasted St Martin Kent.jpg
Brasted St Martin Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Codsheath
County Kent
Poor Law Union Sevenoaks PLU
Registration District Sevenoaks
Records begin
Parish registers: 1557
Bishop's Transcripts: 1743
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Shoreham
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Court of the Peculiar of the Archbishop of Canterbury in the Deaneries of Arches, Croydon and Shoreham; Post-1844 - Search the courts of surrounding parishes
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRASTED (St. Martin), a parish, in the union of Seven-Oaks, hundred of Codsheath, lathe of Suttonat-Hone, W. division of Kent, 3¾ miles (W. by N.) from Seven-Oaks. [1]


Brasted is a village and civil parish in the Sevenoaks district of Kent and includes the settlements of Brasted Chart and Toys Hill see Brasted Wikipedia

Brasted St Martin is an Ancient Parish in the diocese of Rochester; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you

The church of St Martin has been designated as a grade B listed building British listed building

See also Kent Archeological Society and Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 3 (1797), pp. 146-157 at British History Online and Kent Churches website


Resources

Civil Registration

See Sevenoaks Registration District 1837-1941

Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brasted, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
Brasted, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1813-1841
1813-1836

FS BTs 1813-1896 1813-1896 1813-1896
FS PRs 1867-1900 1838-1900 1858-1902

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

England, Kent, Parish Chest (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Parish Chest Records Online Transcripts
Transcripts of Settlement and Removal Orders 1691-1835
Transcripts of Bastardy Examinations sorted by Mother's name 1710-1834
Transcripts of Bastardy Examinations sorted by Father's name 1710-1834
Transcripts of Apprenticeships 1692-1811
Parish Chest Records at the Family History Library
Churchwarden acounts, 1733-1876 1701010 Item 3
Vestry Minutes, 1744-1854 1701010 Item 4
Vestry Minutes, 1854-1923 1701011 Items 1-2
Constable accounts, 1834-1861 1701011 Items 3-4
Overseer Rates, 1809-1838 1701011 Item 5
Overseer Accounts, 1744-1822 1701011 Item 6
Overseer Accounts, 1769-1836 1701012
Settlements, 1693-1834 1701013 Item 1
Apprenticeships, 1600-1811 1701013 Item 2
Bastardy, 1710-1834 1701013 Item 3
Settlement/ Militia, 1778-1829 1701013 Item 4
Miscellaneous, 1835-1842 1701013 Item 5
Surveyor Rates, 1829-1831 1701013 Item 6
Surveyor Accounts, 1804-1843 1701013 Item 7
Charity, 1747-1907 1701013 Item 8
Land Tax, 1843-1875 1701013 Item 9
Tithe, 1844 1701013 Item 10


Census records

Census returns for Brasted, 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

See Church Records above for early parish poor relief

England, Kent, Workhouse Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Sevenoaks Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Local Family History Centre

Orpington Family History Centre, Kent is within reach of the Sevenoaks district, located adjacent to Orpington Station.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 347-350. Date accessed: 8 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 13:30.
  • This page has been accessed 2,673 times.