Brathay, LancashireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Gotoarrow.png Lancashire Parishes

Guide to Brathay, Lancashire family history and genealogy: chapelry register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brathay, Lancashire
Type Ecclesiastical Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Lonsdale
County Lancashire
Poor Law Union Ulverston PLU
Registration District Ulverstone
Records begin
Parish registers: 1836
Bishop's Transcripts: 1837
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Furness and Cartmel
Diocese Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Commissary of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries
Location of Archive
Lancashire Record Office

Contents

Chapelry History

BRATHAY, a chapelry in Hawkshead parish, Lancashire; on Brathay river and Windermere lake, 2 miles SW of Ambleside, and 7½ by road from Windermere railway station. Post Town, Ambleside, under Windermere. It was constituted in 1853. The scenery around Brathay-Bridge, taken in connection with its perspectives, is surpassingly rich. The church is a recent erection, on a wooded knoll, in the neighborhood of Brathay Bridge.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Church of England

Brathay chapelry's registers of christenings, marriages and burials, along with those of the ancient parish of Hawkshead to which it is attached, have been mostly transcribed and are displayed online at the following web sites and ranges of years:

FS = FamilySearch.org
LOPC Lancashire Online Parish Clerk project
FMP = FindMyPast.co.uk
LBMDLancashireBMD.org.uk
AC = Ancestry.co.uk
FREG = FreeReg


BRATHAY HOLY TRINITY Chapelry (1837) Indexes

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1837-1885 1856 (only) 1838-1884
LOPC 1837-1884 1856 (only) 1837-1884
LBMD None None None
HAWKSHEAD ST MICHAEL & ALL ANGELS PARISH (1568) Indexes (ancient parish containing BRATHAY Chapelry)

Baptisms Marriages Burials
FS 1568-1901 1568-1706; 1754-1899 None
LOPC 1568-1864 1568-1974 1568-1864
LBMD None None None
FMP None 1568-1837 None
AC 1568-1837 1568-1837 1568-1837
FREG 1569-1662, 1705-1837 1568-1837 1568-1837


For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Brathay and comprising the whole ancient parish of Hawkshead to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the HAWKSHEAD PARISH page.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 306915.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Lancashire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

References

  1. John M. Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales Published in 1870-72.


Websites

Brathay in Hawkshead on GENUKI


 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 26 September 2014, at 15:18.
  • This page has been accessed 2,255 times.