Braunston, RutlandEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png RutlandGotoarrow.png Rutland Parishes

Guide to Braunston, Rutland ancestry, family history, and genealogy. Parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Braunston, Rutland
All Saints Braunston-in-Rutland.jpg
Type Chapelry
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Oakham-Soke
County Rutland
Poor Law Union Oakham PLU
Registration District Oakham
Records begin
Parish registers: 1558; For more records see Hambleton
Bishop's Transcripts: 1701
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Rutland
Diocese Peterborough
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Peterborough (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Rutland Record Office


Contents

Parish History

BRAUNSTON, or Branston (All Saints), a parish, in the union and soke of Oakham, county of Rutland, 2 miles (S. W.) from Oakham. [1]

Additional information:

In 1870-72, John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales described Braunston like this:

BRAUNSTON, or Branston, a parish in Oakham district, Rutland; on the river Gwash, 2½ miles SW of Oakham r. station.

The Victoria County History of Braunston (1935) is available. It includes a history of the manor, church, advowson, and charities.[2]

The parish should not be confused with Braunstone, Leicestershire or Braunston, Northamptonshire

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Braunston, Rutland parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[3]
Braunston, Rutland Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
IGI 1701-1812 1701-1812

Deposited records are found at the Leicestershire, Leicester and Rutland Record Office.

Diocese of Peterborough : Braunston Bap 1558 - 1871 Marr 1558 - 1845 (Banns to1927) Bur 1558 - 1907

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474578.

Poor Law Unions

Oakham Poor Law Union, Rutland

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Rutland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England, (1848). Adapted. Date accessed: 04 December 2013.
  2. A History of the County of Rutland, Volume 2 (1935). A History of the County of Rutland. Adapted. Date accessed: 20 May 2013.
  3. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Rutland, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 21 April 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 30 November 2014, at 19:28.
  • This page has been accessed 1,769 times.