Braunton with Saunton and Knowle, DevonEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Braunton with Saunton and Knowle, Devon ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Braunton with Saunton and Knowle, Devon|
|Poor Law Union||Barnstaple PLU|
|Parish registers: 1538|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1597|
|Probate Court||Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Exeter|
|Location of Archive|
|Devon Record Office|
BRAUNTON (St. Brannock), a parish, in the union of Barnstaple, hundred of Braunton, Braunton and N. divisions of Devon, 5 miles (W. N. W.) from Barnstapl. There is a place of worship for Independents. 
Births, marriages and deaths were kept by the government from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Braunton with Saunton and Knowle, Devon parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:
|IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free|
|Braunton with Saunton and Knowle, Devon Online Parish Records|
- Plymouth Brethren
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241303.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Devon Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
There are many maps and gazetteers showing English places. Valuable web sites are:
- 1851 Jurisdiction Maps
- Vision of Britain
Braunton with Saunton and Knowle on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 23 January 2015, at 15:20.
- This page has been accessed 1,687 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More