Brayton, YorkshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png YorkshireGotoarrow.png Yorkshire Parishes A-I Gotoarrow.png West Riding of Yorkshire Gotoarrow.png Brayton


Guide to Brayton, Yorkshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Contents

Parish History

BRAYTON (St. Wilfrid), a parish, in the union of Selby, Lower division of the wapentake of BarkstoneAsh, West Riding Yorkshire; comprising the townships of Barlow, Brayton, Burn, Gateforth, Hambleton, and Thorpe-Willoughby; and containing 1974 inhabitants, of whom 307 are in the township of Brayton, 1 mile (S. W.) from Selby. [1]

BRAYTON, a township and a parish in Selby district, W. R. Yorkshire. The township lies on the Selby canal, between the rivers Ouse and Aire, and on the Leeds and Selby railway, 1½ mile WSW of Selby. Pop., 367. Houses, 80. [2]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Online Records

Online data content from chapelry registers of Brayton exists at some of the following websites and for the specified ranges of years:

IARC = Archive.org
FS = FamilySearch.org
ANC = ancestry.co.uk (£)
HATH = HathiTrust.org
JOIN = JoinerMarriageIndex.co.uk - (£)
BRAYTON PARISH (1724) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS 1759-1836

1724-1882

1838-1860

JOIN None

None

None

AC None

None

None



For a full list of all those chapels surrounding Warrington-Padgate Christ Church and comprising the whole ancient parish of Brayton to which it was attached, be certain to see "Church Records" on the BRAYTON PARISH page.


To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

This ancient parish (AP) was created before 1813.  Church of England records began in 1644.


Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 464248.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Yorkshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 350-353. Date accessed: 18 December 2013.
  2. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales(1870-72)Adapted 18 December 2013

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 20 October 2014, at 17:27.
  • This page has been accessed 1,676 times.