Bredenbury, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Bredenbury, Herefordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bredenbury, Herefordshire
Bredenbury St+Andrew Herefordshire.jpg
Bredenbury St+Andrew Herefordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Broxash
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Bromyard PLU
Registration District Bromyard
Records begin
Parish registers: 1607
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Frome
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Bredenbury Ancient Parish was united with Wacton, Herefordshire in 1875.

The church of St Andrew was built as a new replacemnt for the ancient medieval church at Bredenbury and for the ruined church at Wacton and the church opened in 1877. Designed by T H Wyatt and reusing stone from the two predecessor sites on land given by William Henry Barneby of nearby Bredenbury Court. See Herefordshire Churches Bredenbury with Brendon Bishop & Wacton

BREDENBURY, a parish, is in the union of Bromyard, the hundred of Broxash, and the county of Hereford, 3 miles North West of Bromyard.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bredenbury

Census records

Census returns for Bredenbury 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.

[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK

[2] to locate outside UK.

Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Bromyard Poor Law Union,Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Bredenbury/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 353-357. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 August 2014, at 15:52.
  • This page has been accessed 785 times.