Bredgar, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Kent Gotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Bredgar, Kent ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Bredgar, Kent
Bredgar St John the Baptitst Kent.jpg
Bredgar St John the Baptitst Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Milton
County Kent
Poor Law Union Milton PLU
Registration District Milton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1546
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Sittingbourne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BREDGAR (St. John the Baptist), a parish, in the union and hundred of Milton, lathe of Scray, E. division of Kent, 4 miles (S. W. by S.) from Sittingbourne. [1]
Bredgar is a village and civil parish in the Swale district of Kent, see Bredgar Wikipedia

Bredgar St John the Baptist is an Ancient Parish which includes the hamlet of Bexon and is in the Diocese of Canterbury; a map of the parish boundary is available at A church near you.

The church dates from 14th century (west door from 12th) and was restored in 1894. It is designated a grade I listed building by English Heritage British listed building.

The village and civil parish are 4 miles south west of Sittingbourne and the M2 motorway crosses the parish.

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 6 (1798), pp. 98-106 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bredgar, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (findmypast) - (£)[2]
FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[3][4][5][6]
Bredgar, Kent Online Parish Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1661-1775

FMP 1540-1911
1559-1836; 1754-1831 (Banns)
1557-1885

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Original deposited registers are held at:

Centre for Kentish Studies,County Hall,Maidstone,Kent ME14 1XX

01622 694363

Fax: 01622 694379

archives@kent.gov.uk

Family History Library film numbers
Bredgar
See also England, Kent, Parish Registers and Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts, non conformist and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

Land Tax

Images for Bredgar available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Census records

Census returns for Bredgar 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Milton Poor Law Union,Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 353-357. Dated accessed: 8 July 8 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish baptism records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  5. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  6. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 3 December 2014, at 18:28.
  • This page has been accessed 4,358 times.