Bredwardine, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

EnglandGotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Bredwardine, Herefordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Bredwardine, Herefordshire
Downloaded7725402964865851386 Bredwardine St+Andrew Herefordhsire.jpg
Downloaded7725402964865851386 Bredwardine St+Andrew Herefordhsire.
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Webtree
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hay PLU
Registration District Hay
Records begin
Parish registers: 1723
Bishop's Transcripts: 1660
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Weobley
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop of Hereford (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BREDWARDINE (St. Andrew), is a parish, in the union of Hay, the hundred of Webtree, and the county of Hereford, 11½ miles North West of Hereford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bredwardine, Herefordshire parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)[2]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[3]
BREDWARDINE PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1660-1837

PALL
1790-1837

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records. Add the contact information for the office holding the original records.

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection Bredwardine

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 288820.

See Herefordshire Census

Poor Law Unions

See Breconshire Poor Law Unions Hay Poor Law Union

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Bredwardine/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 353-357. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.
  2. Percival Boyd, A List of Parishes in Boyd's Marriage Index (London: Society of Genealogists, 1987). Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.
  3. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 August 2014, at 15:53.
  • This page has been accessed 1,017 times.