Breinton, HerefordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Gotoarrow.png Herefordshire Parishes

Guide to Breinton, Herefordshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Breinton, Herefordshire
Lower+Breinton St+Michael Herefordshire.jpg
Lower+Breinton St+Michael Herefordshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Grimsworth
County Herefordshire
Poor Law Union Hereford PLU
Registration District Hereford
Records begin
Parish registers: 1662
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Hereford
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Bishop (Consistory) of the Dean of Hereford
Location of Archive
Herefordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

See also Herefordshire Churches

BREINTON (St. Michael), a parish, in the hundred of Grimsworth, the union and county of Hereford, 2 miles west of Hereford. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Contributor: Include here information for parish registers, Bishop’s Transcripts and other types of church records, such as parish chest records.

The Diocesan Record Office for Herefordshire has deposited Parish registers reference AH 19, AH3 and Bishop's transcripts 1661-1840

AH19/1 General register 1662-1728

AH3/1 General register 1730-184 (Marriages end in 1754)

AH3/2 Baptisms and burials, 1787-1812 (including marriages, 1790-1812 and banns 1790-1808 also copy of 1811 census)
AH3/3 Baptisms 1813-1892

AH3/4 Baptisms 1893-1973

AH3/5 Marriages and banns, 1754-1790 (includes two entries for 1802)
AH3/6 Marriages 1813-1837

AH3/7 Marriages 1837-1980

BP68/1 Marriages 1980-1996 BP68 series of parish registers post 1980

AH3/8 Banns 1824-1852

AH3/9 Banns 1855-1909

AH3/10 Banns 1941-1973

AH3/11 Burials 1813-1928 Burials, (loose inside: death and burial certificates.
Also, note concerning inscriptions of burials in the chancel of the church following restoration, 1870)
Other records include Churchwardens accounts and overseers

Herefordshire Archive Service
Herefordshire Record Office
Harold Street
Hereford
HR1 2QX

Office Tel No: +44 (0)1432 260750
Email: archives@herefordshire.gov.uk

Link to the FamilySearch Catalogue showing the film numbers in their collection

Breinton  for parish registers 1662-1980

Census records

Census returns for Breinton 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Hereford Poor Law Union, Herefordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Herefordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/HEF/Breinton/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 353-357. Adapted. Date accessed: 12 June 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 31 August 2014, at 15:54.
  • This page has been accessed 1,430 times.