Brenchley, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png KentGotoarrow.png Kent Parishes

Guide to Brenchley, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Brenchley, Kent
Brenchley All Saints Kent.jpg
Brenchley All Saints Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Brenchley and Horsemonden
County Kent
Poor Law Union Tonbridge PLU
Registration District Tunbridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1560
Bishop's Transcripts: 1715
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Malling
Diocese Pre-1845 - Rochester; Post-1844 - Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1845 - Courts of the Bishop (Episcopal Consistory) and Archdeaconry of Rochester; Post-1844 - Prerogative Court of the Archbishop of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRENCHLEY (All Saints), a parish, in the union of Tonbridge, hundred of Brenchley and Horsemonden, lathe of Aylesford, W. division of Kent, 4¼ miles (N.) from Lamberhurst. There is a place of worship for Particular Baptists.[1]
Brenchley is a village and civil parish in the Tunbridge Wells borough and district of Kent Brenchley Wikipedia The parish includes neighbouring village of Matfield.

Brenchley All Saints is an Ancient Parish; a map of the parish boundary may be found at A church near you.

The parish church of All Saints Horsmonden Road Brenchley has been designated as a grade I listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 280-294 at British History Online and Kent Churches website

From this parish was formed:

See Matfield North West Kent Family History Society and Matfield St Luke

Paddock Wood St Andrew Queen Street This parish was formed from part of Brenchley parish also Yalding, Kent and Nettlestead, Kent parishes. See also Kent Churches website for a history of this parish.

See also Brenchley North West Kent Family History Society and Brenchley All Saints

Resources

Civil Registration

See Tonbridge Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brenchley, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BIVRI = British Isles Vital Records Index (Ancestry) - (£)[2]
FS BTs = England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts (FamilySearch) - free[3]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
Brenchley, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BIVRI 1560-1771
1560-1754

FS BTs 1716-1901 1716-1901 1716-1901
FS PRs 1560-1875 1560-1876; 1754-1812 (banns) 1560-1876
IGI 1560-1875 1754-1876

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

Matfield registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

Matfield Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS BTs 1898-1900 1898-1900 1898-1900

Land Tax

Images for Brenchley, Horsmonden, Kent Pembury, Kent and Yalding, Kent available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1832

Images for Borough of Yalding are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831 The borough of Yalding comprised Yalding, Kent Horsmonden, Kent Brenchley and Hunton, Kent within the Land Tax bundle at the Centre for Kentish Studies Maidstone.

See also Edward Hasted 'The hundred of Brenchley and Horsmonden: Introduction', The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 5 (1798), pp. 280 at British History Online

Census records

Census returns for Brenchley 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901



Poor Law Unions

Tonbridge Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent


Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 353-357. Date accessed: 8 July 2013.
  2. 'British Isles Vital Records Index - 2nd Ed. Breakdown of Records', Genoot, accessed 7 November 2013.
  3. 'England, Kent, Bishop's Transcripts, 1560-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 11 November 2013.
  4. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Kent, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 15 November 2013.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 13:34.
  • This page has been accessed 3,947 times.