Brenzett, KentEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png KentGotoarrow.pngKent Parishes

Guide to Brenzett, Kent family history and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.


Brenzett, Kent
Brenzett St Eanswith Kent.jpg
Brenzett St Eanswith Kent
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Aloesbridge; Romney Marsh Liberty
County Kent
Poor Law Union Romney Marsh PLU
Registration District Romney Marsh
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1563
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Lympne
Diocese Canterbury
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Archdeaconry of Canterbury
Location of Archive
Kent Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRENZETT (St. Eanswith), a parish, in the union of Romney-Marsh, partly in the hundred of Aloesbridge, but chiefly in the liberty of Romney-Marsh, lathe of Shepway, E. division of Kent, 4½ miles (N. W. by W.) from Romney. There is a place of worship for Wesleyans. [1]
Brenzett is a village and civil parish in the Shepway district of Kent, see Brenzett Wikipedia

Brenzett St Eanswith is an Ancient Parish in Romney Marsh. The church is supported by the Romney Marsh Historic Churches Trust.

Brenzett St Eanswith with Snargate, Kent is a parish in the Diocese of Canterbury and part of the benefice of Appledore with Brookland and Fairfield and Brenzett with Snargate.

The church is dedicated to St Eanswyth, a saxon princess, granddaughter of Ethelbert the first Christian King of Kent, who founded a nunnery at Folkestone . She served her noviciate in Normandy, and became the founder and Abbess of the nunnery of Peter and Paul, which was built in 630.

The church belonged to the Abbey of Gynes in Artois Flanders in the 13th century, and passed into the hands of Henry V c 1415.

It was heavily restored in 1876, but by 1902 had fallen into a state of bad repair. The chancel and bell-turret had to be dismantled and rebuilt. It has an original 13th century priest's door and some Norman herring-bone masonry.

The church of St Eanswith, Church Lane, Brenzett has been designated a grade II* listed building British listed building

See Edward Hasted The History and Topographical Survey of the County of Kent: Volume 8 (1799), pp. 388-394 at British History Online and Kent Churches website



Resources

Civil Registration

See Romney Marsh Registration District

Kent County Council (KCC) has a certificate centre at the Mansion House in Tunbridge Wells which holds all the completed registers for Kent since 1 July 1837 and can supply a certified copy of any Kent birth, death or marriage entry from any register within its custody or a Kent civil partnership registration from the government online database.

The Mansion House
(Certificate Centre)
Grove Hill Road
Tunbridge Wells
Kent TN1 1EP

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brenzett, Kent parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FMP = FindMyPast - (£)[2][3][4]
FREG = FreeREG - free[5]
FS PRs = England, Kent, Parish Registers (FamilySearch) - free[6]
MIDK = Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911 - free[7]
Brenzett, Kent Parish Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FMP
1539-1836; 1757-1815 (Banns)
1678-1883
FREG 1750-1911
1754-1911

FS PRs 1823-1900 (banns)
MIDK 1754-1911

Kent Online Parish Clerks (OPC)

England, Kent, Parish Chest (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Alphabetical index of marriages taking place in Romney Marsh parishes, extracted from registers held at the Centre for Kentish Studies

Parishes covered
Brenzett, Brookland, Burmarsh, Dymchurch, Fairfield, Hope All Saints, Ivychurch, Lydd, New Romney, Newchurch, Old Romney, Snargate , Snave and St Mary in the Marsh. Marriages were no longer solemnized at Fairfield after 1853 and there is only one entry in the register for Hope All Saints.

Brenzett 1756-1815 P46/1/5
1815-1836 P46/1/6
1838-1911 P46/1/7

Land Tax

Images for Brenzett are available at FamilySearch Records see England, Kent, Land Tax Assessments (FamilySearch Historical Records) 1780-1831

Digital images are derived from 1987 microfilming at Kent Archives reference Q/RPL/51

Census records

Census returns for Brenzett 1841-1891

FamilySearch Records includes collections of census indexes which can be searched online for free. In addition FamilySearch Centres offer free access to images of the England and Wales Census through FHC Portal Computers here have access to the Family History Centre Portal page which gives free access to premium family history software and websites that generally charge for subscriptions.
[1] to locate local Family History Centres in UK
[2] to locate outside UK.
Many archives and local history collections in public libraries in England and Wales offer online census searches and also hold microfilm or fiche census returns.

Images of the census for 1841-1891 can be viewed in census collections at Ancestry (fee payable) or Find My Past (fee payable)

The 1851 census of England and Wales attempted to identify religious places of worship in addition to the household survey census returns.

Ancestry UK Census Collection

Find my Past census search 1841-1901




Poor Law Unions

Romney Marsh Poor Law Union, Kent

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Kent Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

See England, Kent, Wills and Probate (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Local Family History Centre

Canterbury Family History Centre, Kent

Maidstone Family History Centre, Kent

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England(1848), pp. 357-362. Date acessed: 8 July 2013.
  2. 'Coverage of Kent parish marriage records', Find My Past, accessed 6 November 2013.
  3. 'Coverage of Kent parish banns', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  4. 'Coverage of Kent parish burial records', Find My Past, accessed 5 November 2013.
  5. 'Kent Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 6 November 2013.
  6. 'England, Kent, Parish Registers, 1538-1911,' FamilySearch, accessed 12 November 2013.
  7. 'Mid-Kent Marriage Index 1754-1911,' Woodchurch Ancestry Group, accessed 16 January 2014.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 1 June 2014, at 13:36.
  • This page has been accessed 5,491 times.