Brereton cum Smethwick, CheshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png CheshireGotoarrow.png Cheshire Parishes Gotoarrow.png Brereton cum Smethwick

Guide to Brereton cum Smethwick, Cheshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brereton cum Smethwick, Cheshire
St Oswald Church Brereton.jpg
St Oswald Church Brereton
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Northwich
County Cheshire
Poor Law Union Congleton PLU
Registration District Congleton
Records begin
Parish registers: 1538
Bishop's Transcripts: 1593
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Middlewich
Diocese Pre-1541 - Lichfield and Coventry; Post-1540 - Chester
Province York
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Pre-1541 - Court of the Bishop of Lichfield (Episcopal Consistory) Post-1540 - Court of the Bishop of Cheshire (Episcopal Consistory)
Location of Archive
Cheshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

Brererton cum Smethwick, St Oswald, Cheshire is an Ancient parish including Smethwick.

Raymond Richards relates that there was a chapel at Brereton from the reign of Richard I (1189-99). Canon Sladden in Beside the Bright Stream relates that Sir William Brereton built a church at Brereton about 1200 to fulfill it is dedicated it to St. Oswald of Northumberland.

Brereton was originally in the parish of  Astbury, Cheshire and became a parish in its own right in the reign of Henry VIII (1509-47). The church registers begin in 1538. The list of ministers goes back to Gilbert de Brereton in 1297.

BRERETON-CUM-SMETHWICK, is a parish in Congleton district, Cheshire; it is on the river Croke, 2 miles SE of Holmes-Chapel railway station, and 3 miles NE by N of Sandbach. It has a post office by the name of Brereton, under Congleton. There are three dissenting chapels.[1]

Resources

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241250.

Church records

Brereton cum Smethwick St Oswald parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials have been indexed by the following groups:

FS PR's =FamilySearch Parish Registers
FS BT's = FamilySearch Bishops Transcripts
Brereton cum Smethwick St Oswald Parish (1538) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FS PR's 1538-1909
  NONE
1541-1860
  NONE
1538-1869
  NONE
FS BT'S 1595-1840   NONE
1593-1840
  NONE
1595-1840
  NONE

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Parish registers for Brereton-cum-Smethwick, 1538-1972 Cheshire Record Office reference: P138/1/1-4, P138/2, P138/3/1-3; P138/4, P138/3205/1, P138/6125/1.

An index for Cheshire parish registers is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search)

Here is a list of church registers on microfilm at the Family History Library in Salt Lake City.

Parish Register Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1538-1812. Marriages, 1813-1860. Baptisms, 1813-1850. Banns, 1754-1797. BRITISH
2103922 Items 16 - 23
Burials, 1813-1869. BRITISH
2104037 Item 1
Marriage banns, 1824-1844. VAULT BRITISH
2104408 Item 24
Baptisms, 1850-1972. BRITISH
2262784 Item 1

Bishop's transcripts of Brereton-cum-Smethwick, 1593-1840 Early text in Latin.Cheshire Record Office reference: EDB 34.

An index for Cheshire, Church of England, Bishop’s Transcripts (Diocese of Chester) is available online in FamilySearch Historical Records (formerly Record Search)

Bishop's Transcript Content FHL Film
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1593-1594, 1600, 1613-1615, 1617-1620, 1623, 1625-1626, 1630, 1633-1635, 1658-1666, 1668-1676, 1679-1682, 1684-1685, 1691-1753. BRITISH
1655423 Item 2
Baptisms, marriages, burials, 1752-1836, 1838-1840. BRITISH
1655424 Item 1

Non-Conformist Churches

Brereton, Methodist Chapel (Primitive). Built in 1882, closed c.1923.

Non-Conformist Records:

Cheshire Record OfficeReference EMS 86
Brereton cum Smethwick Brereton Methodist Chapel
Date 19th century - 20th century Various records1882-1923
Their website is here.

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from 1 July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. Here are two excellent Internet sites with birth, marriage and death indexes available:

Registration Districts

  • Congleton

Poor Law Unions

Congleton Poor Law Union, Cheshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cheshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

see also England Cheshire Probate Records (FamilySearch Historical Records)

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

References

  1. John Marius Wilson, Imperial Gazetteer of England and Wales (1870-72). Date accessed: 8 February 2013.

Bibliography

Richards, Raymond (1947), Old Cheshire Churches, London: Batsford

Beside the Bright Stream, The Background and History of St. Oswald's Church, Lower Peover, by the Rev. Canon J. C. Sladden, MA BD (Oxon), 1st edition 1968

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 28 July 2014, at 15:21.
  • This page has been accessed 3,248 times.