Brewood, StaffordshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Gotoarrow.png Staffordshire Parishes

Guide to Brewood, Staffordshire ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish register transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.

Brewood, Staffordshire
St Mary & St Chad Brewood Staffordshire.jpg
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred East Cuttlestone
County Staffordshire
Poor Law Union Penkridge PLU
Registration District Penkridge
Records begin
Parish registers: 1562
Bishop's Transcripts: 1618
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Brewood
Diocese Lichfield
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Peculiar of the Dean of Lichfield
Location of Archive
Staffordshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BREWOOD, a parish, in the union of Penkridge, E. division of the hundred of Cuttlestone, S. division of the county of Stafford, 7 miles (N. by W.) from Wolverhampton, and 10 (S. by W.) from Stafford. There were two chapelries built within this parish boundary, (with registers of baptisms and burials) including:

  • BISHOPSWOOD - constituted in 1851
  • COVEN - a liberty, 2 miles (E. S. E.) from Brewood had a chapel of ease built in 1839.

The Independents have a place of worship; and there is a Roman Catholic chapel, built in 1844: at Coven is a place of worship for Wesleyans.[1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Brewood St Mary parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

FREG =FreeREG - free[2]
FS = FamilySearch - free[3]
IARC = Internet Archive - free[4]
JOIN = The Joiner Marriage Index - (£)[5]
NBI = National Burial Index (findmypast) - (£)[6]
TGEN = TheGenealogist - (£)[7]
BREWOOD ST MARY PARISH (1556) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG 1561/2-1626
1561/2-1628
1561/2-1626, 1813-1907
FS 1561-1812
1561-1840


IARC 1562-1649
1562-1649
1562-1649
JOIN

1562-1639


NBI



1556-1838
TGEN 1562-1649
1562-1649
1562-1649



Coven was originally a manor in the parish of Brewood. The Church was built in 1857.

Brewood St Pauls (Coven) parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BREWOOD ST PAUL  (COVEN) (1857) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG
1857-1911






Non-Conformist Churches

Brewood Long Birch Roman Catholic parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BREWOOD LONG BIRCH ROMAN CATHOLIC CHAPEL Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI



1727-1837


Brewood White Ladies Roman Catholic parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BREWOOD WHITE LADIES ROMAN CATHOLIC CHAPEL Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
NBI



1643-1837


Brewood  Chillington Roman Catholic parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BREWOOD CHILLINGTON ROMAN CATHOLIC CHAPEL (1720) Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
FREG

1720-1737,1761-1770


1721-1725





Many of Staffordshire's Parish Register entries have been transcribed in full by Staffordshire FreeREG and can be searched for free.

Census records


Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474612.

Poor Law Unions

Penkridge Poor Law Union, Staffordshire

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Staffordshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/STS/Brewood/index.html

Reference

  1. Samuel A. Lewis,A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 357-362. Adapted. Date accessed: 16 October 2012.
  2. 'Staffordshire Coverage', FreeREG, accessed 26 September 2014.
  3. 'IGI Batch Numbers for Stafford (A-M), England', IGI Batch Numbers - British Isles and North America, accessed 18 September 2013.
  4. .
  5. Staffordshire Coverage, The Joiner Marriage Index, accessed 13 September 2013.
  6. 'Parish Records - National Burial Index Records 1538 - 2005 Coverage', Find My Past, accessed 8 September 2013.
  7. 'Parish Records - Staffordshire Coverage', The Genealogist, accessed 27 September 2013.
  8. Ann J. Kettle, A List of Families in the Archdeaconry of Stafford, 1532-3 (Stafford: Staffordshire Record Society, 1976). FHL British Book 942.46 B4sc ser. 4 v. 8



 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 15 November 2014, at 21:48.
  • This page has been accessed 2,807 times.