Bridgnorth St Mary Magdalen, ShropshireEdit This Page

From FamilySearch Wiki

England Gotoarrow.png ShropshireGotoarrow.png Shropshire Parishes

Guide to Bridgnorth St Mary Magdalen, Shropshire family history and genealogy: parish registers, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
Bridgnorth St Mary Magdalen, Shropshire
Type Ancient Parish
Civil Jurisdictions
Hundred Bridgnorth Borough
County Shropshire
Poor Law Union Bridgnorth PLU
Registration District Bridgnorth
Records begin
Parish registers: 1610
Bishop's Transcripts: 1662
Ecclesiastical Jurisdictions
Rural Deanery Bridgnorth
Diocese Hereford
Province Canterbury
Legal Jurisdictions
Probate Court Court of the Royal Peculiar of Bridgnorth
Location of Archive
Shropshire Record Office

Contents

Parish History

BRIDGNORTH, a borough and a market-town having separate jurisdiction, and the head of a union, locally in the hundred of Stottesden, S. division of Shropshire, 20½ miles (S. E.) from Shrewsbury, and 140 (N.W.) from London. There is a modern church of St. Mary Magdalene. Bridgnorth town comprises the parishes of St. Mary Magdalene and St. Leonard. There are places of worship for Baptists, Wesleyans, Presbyterians, and Irvingites. [1]

Resources

Civil Registration

Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.

Church records

Bridgnorth St Mary Magdalen parish registers of christenings, marriages and burials are available online for the following years:

BOYD = Boyd's Marriage Index (FindMyPast) - (£)
FMP = Shropshire Records (FindMyPast) - (£)[2][3][4]
IGI = International Genealogical Index (FamilySearch) - free[5]
PALL = Pallot's Marriage Index (Ancestry) - (£)[6]
BRIDGNORTH ST MARY MAGDALEN PARISH Online Records

Baptisms
Marriages
Burials

Indexes Images Indexes Images Indexes Images
BOYD
1600-1725

FMP Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined Undefined
IGI 1610-1839, 1872-1877 1610-1839
PALL
1795-1812

Bishop's transcripts held at Lichfield Record Office Bap 1813-1839 Marr 1813-1839 Bur 1813-1839. Missing  all events 1836-1838.

To find the names of the neighbouring parishes, use England Jurisdictions 1851. In this site, search for the name of the parish, click on the location "pin", click Options and click List contiguous parishes.

Non Conformist Churches

Census records

Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 474590.

Probate records

Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Shropshire Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.

Maps and Gazetteers

Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.

Websites

http://www.genuki.org.uk/big/eng/SAL/BridgnorthStMaryMagdalen/index.html

Contributor: add any relevant sites that aren’t mentioned above.

References

  1. Samuel A. Lewis, A Topographical Dictionary of England (1848), pp. 395-400. Date accessed: 21 May 2012.
  2. 'Shropshire Baptisms 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  3. 'Shropshire Marriages 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  4. 'Shropshire Burials 1538-1900,' FindMyPast, accessed 28 April 2014.
  5. Hugh Wallis, 'IGI Batch Numbers for Shropshire, England,' IGI Batch Numbers, accessed 22 April 2014.
  6. Pallot's Marriage and Birth Indexes, Guide to Parishes. Digital version at FamilySearch Books Online.

 

Need additional research help? Contact our research help specialists.

Need wiki, indexing, or website help? Contact our product teams.


Did you find this article helpful?

You're invited to explain your rating on the discussion page (you must be signed in).

  • This page was last modified on 12 August 2014, at 15:44.
  • This page has been accessed 2,589 times.