Brigham, CumberlandEdit This Page
From FamilySearch Wiki
Guide to Brigham, Cumberland ancestry, family history, and genealogy: parish registers, transcripts, census records, birth records, marriage records, and death records.
|Hundred||Allerdale above Derwent|
|Poor Law Union||Cockermouth PLU|
|Parish registers: 1564|
|Bishop's Transcripts: 1676|
|Probate Court||Court of the Archdeaconry of Richmond Western Deaneries - Copeland|
|Location of Archive|
|Cumberland Record Office|
BRIGHAM (St. Bridget), a parish, comprising the borough and market-town of Cockermouth, in the union of Cockermouth, Allerdale ward above Derwent, W. division of Cumberland, 2 miles (W.) from Cockermouth. There are places of worship for dissenters.
Birth, marriages and deaths were kept by the government, from July 1837 to the present day. The civil registration article tells more about these records. There are several Internet sites with name lists or indexes. A popular site is FreeBMD.
Parish registers for Brigham, 1564-1942 at the FHL
Bishop's transcripts for Brigham, 1676-1874 at the FHL
- Society of Friends/Quaker
- Wesleyan Methodist
Census records from 1841 to 1911 are available online. For access, see England Census Records and Indexes Online. Census records from 1841 to 1891 are also available on film through a Family History Center or at the Family History Library. The first film number is 241276.
Records of wills, administrations, inventories, indexes, etc. were filed by the court with jurisdiction over this parish. Go to Cumberland Probate Records to find the name of the court having primary jurisdiction. Scroll down in the article to the section Court Jurisdictions by Parish.
Maps and Gazetteers
Maps are a visual look at the locations in England. Gazetteers contain brief summaries about a place.
Brigham on GENUKI
- This page was last modified on 12 December 2014, at 15:51.
- This page has been accessed 1,684 times.
New to the Research Wiki?
In the FamilySearch Research Wiki, you can learn how to do genealogical research or share your knowledge with others.Learn More